Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
16
4.2 out of 5 stars


on 7 January 2003
The text is lucid in its presentation of what is often viewed as a difficult subject.
Starting with no more than a sound understanding of sixth form (high school) Mathematics and Physics, the authors proceed to underpin elementary concepts of electrostatics, simple circuits, and magnetism with the rigour and completeness demanded at University level. New mathematical ideas are introduced gently (so naturally, in fact, that the reader does not feel that (s)he is being asked to learn some new things!) and blended into the key Physical concepts.
The book accelerates through a whole lot of material and tacitly introduces the reader to Maxwell's Equations without calling them so. Only after all of the core physical concepts - Dielectrics, Steady Currents and Magnetic Fields, Ferromagnetism, Electromagnetism/Induction - have been covered, do the authors venture to integrate the mathematics into Maxwell's equations. This emphasis on the Physics (with the Mathematics working merely as a tool) works really well and is central to the readability of this book.
The latter chapters explore Transmission Lines, Electromagnetic Waves (which the mathematically inclined texts like to boast about as solutions of Maxwell's Equations), and the beginnings of Relativistic Electrodynamics.
All in all, an excellent, enjoyable book - highly recommended! Makes Physics fun!
Lastly, I might add that I was one of the "guinea pigs" at Manchester who benefited directly from the materials in this book and others in the Manchester Physics Series.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
I have Griffiths book that covers EM theory and I think it's a bit better (but it's more than a bit more expensive and a little more advanced. This book is really a ~first year book.. The book is still well presented, neat, good typeset and covers most of the bits you need to know at this level. Also includes v short but valuable sections on waveguides, cavities, transmission lines and antennas. Depends what your looking for...if you want to move on from ~1st year EM then buy Griffiths (bit more cash required)...if you want to get by the exam and not much more then this "should" be fine
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 November 2006
* [Updated, 6 Feb 2014]

This book is better tackled after reading 'Student Guide to Maxwell's Equation's'. The general mathematical components within this Wiley book seem less daunting and easier to deal with when done this way. I would also backup with more knowledge of general 'Mathematical Methods' as taught in engineering type books such as Stroud's 'Further Engineering Mathematics' and to cover 'Vector Calculus'. Its a really useful to apply the theoretical basis of Calculus & analysis to show how nuclear particles can be examined. These two other books dovetail beautifully and are helpful in assimilating these topics.

* Summary descriptions of the later chapters.

I would say its easier if you have some knowledge of from other sources before this book. If you do this then its fun to read. To me, in the middle section of the book covered 'H.N.D' level stuff, such as 'Thevenin', and 'Nodal Analysis' in a way of reminding the reader that is good for it brevity. The truly great thing about the coverage in these later chapters is the coverage of truly new stuff (i.m.h.o), such as a working understanding of electromagnetic radiation (light and radio waves) and how they are generated, links between antenna's and landlines equivalent circuits, and the amazing bits being the link between H.N.C / H.N.D oscillator theory using Capacitors / Inductors / Resistance and its extension into Klystron microwave repeaters! Truly wonderful to come across this at a student friendly level and so easy to read! The end topics hit the Relativity and electromagnetic issues and the 'simpler' equations can take your breath away initially, until you hold your nerve and grasp some of what its explaining.

* Personal.

I knew a few students on engineering courses who's math study stopped at their second-year found this final-year topic "pure-torture". I can understand their viewpoint given they stopped doing math to support this level of scientific studies. To cope you need to spend however much time it takes to cope with mathematical treatments used in these two auxiliary book's and with this, the learning from this standard text is supported and helped along.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 1999
I'm a first year physics student, and I thought this book was very good in helping me understand the subject. However, I would strongly recommend having another book as well, like Duffin's Electricity and Magnetism, as some of the proofs can be a bit confusing, and are better demonstrated another way. (eg the dipole E-field) Overall, though, and excellent buy.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Well written text with nice examples. Covers the basic maths required as well. Good Year 1-2 undergraduate physics and EE text.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Really great book for anyone studying Electromagnetism at University. Highly recommend
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2011
A book from the Manchester Physics series, written by staff at Manchester University.
This is a comprehensive book for a University Physics student, pretty much everything you need to know.
...not aimed at the layman!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2012
I highly recommend this book to anyone studying E+M it will cover all years of a degree and beyond. it is easy going but goes into enough detail and covers everything from maxwells equations to waveguides and beyond
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Very pleased with the purchase, totally satisfied all round.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
what you need for doing a degree in physics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse