Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
9
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2009
It's totally surprising to see nothing has changed in the markets since 100 years. The whole mechanism, pscychology and theatre is the same onyl players change. The book is a large size hard cover. So be careful you can only read it at home.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2011
This book was actually given to me by an associate of Bill O'Neil as an encouragement to understand the investing philosophy of Bill who, while being a famous market wizard himself, was in turn also deeply influenced by Jesse Livermore, the disguised hero of the book.

Reminiscences of a Stock Operator is a fictionalised version of the life of Jesse Livermore, one of the greatest speculators ever, where the original text first appeared in the 1920's as a series of articles and illustrations in the Saturday Evening Post, and while Livermore had won and lost tens of millions of dollars playing the stock and commodities markets, his ideas about the market are as true today as they were more than 80 years ago, making Reminiscences of a Stock Operator a timeless classic that enriches today's traders as it has done for generations in the past.

For the first time ever, this classic is reprinted in its original, illustrated format in the Saturday Evening Post, and in addition to that, this new version contains commentary from renowned financial historian Charles Geisst, who explains the historic context of each chapter of Reminiscences, providing insight into the financial markets and speculative culture of this bygone era, providing a richer, more enlightening reading experience.

By the way, together with this book, I was also given Bill's notes on Livermore's trades in the book, which were expressed in the form of stock charts with quotes and annotations written over them, and it's very helpful in getting me to understand the book, but to the disappointment of the rest of you, Bill's notes are only private distributed to people he knows, so I consider myself really lucky to have got a copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2011
I bought this edition a few years ago and it is lovely to read.
As another reviewer said it is quite large and being a hard back it can be little uncomfortable laid on you knee.
Having said that it's a joy to look through, the pictures capture the feelings of the market at the time (and the feelings now).
The story itself is very interesting and can be seen as a window into the past but it is more than that, it is filled with information and insights into what is essentially the same market.
The players change but the game remains the same.
It's a book that every trader or stock market aficionado should have a copy of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
This will take time, to let the messages and lessons resonate will take longer because the reality is, we are all addicted to the dream.
Having taken the time, my intention is to get ahead and quit to somewhere with plenty of sun and absolutely no Internet (or bucket shops)
You will be reading for the same reason as myself - to take in a lesson from a renowned trading genius. Read it - the lesson is the moral a moral is difficult to find amongst us men of very few who play the ultimate game of capitalist invent. It ain't half fun though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
Good book with valuable lessons that I've read many times. From reading this book you will not only realise the ups and downs of this trader in particular but also the lessons he learnt through out his journey. Every chapter provides fantasic learning lessons and even if you are not interested in trading then this is still a good read as there is almost a sense of drama. For those wanting to become a trader you have to read this before doing anything...it will open your eyes and mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
Riveting and inspiring. I'd recommend this book to any experienced investor, trader or speculator.

It draws you in from the first page, holds you throughout, and afterwards leaves you determined to change a few things about your own activities. Enduring and full of value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
I have read this book so many times now that I could almost recite it.

One of the most valuable books that anyone interested in any sort of trading could ever read.

A must have for anyone that is ever going to trade any shares
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
Great read, it is entertaining from start to finish. I would recommend this book to anyone who is a newbie to trading and experienced traders alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
This is a brilliant book. Must read for any person interesting investments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)