Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2010
I have been involved in marketing for ten years in the UK and over the past year I have been getting more and more involved with the on-line nature of marketing. It seems that the UK is still quite a way behind when it comes to the use of social media integrated with business... It's still looked at as a quirky fad that employees waste their time on. It's clearly not, and Kyle Lacy's book will show you why.

Social media is growing day by day and could eventually be the strongest form of media in the world, knocking off newspapers, radio and maybe even television. Learn about it and get involved!! Twitter seems to be the 'dark horse' of social media in the UK, with the likes of Face Book and Myspace leading the way. Twitter is different, their users are more engaging and more opinionated than those using Face Book or the other sites. Twitter (if used correctly) can help you and your business build relationships with new customers and even stronger bonds with existing clients.

Twitter Marketing for Dummies (like any For Dummies Book) with take you by the hand and lead you through one of the most challenging, yet most rewarding social media sites - TWITTER. Get this book if you are new to the whole marketing thing or even if (like me) you think you know it all. It turns out that I didn't know it all! But this book is helping me to understand it like never before. You'll use it as a key reference book that you keep going back to and picking new tips from daily.

This is a MUST BUY!

@Troylinehan
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
Whilst the UK may be slightly behind the Americans when it comes to tweeting, this book serves as an excellent source of information for anybody looking to break the Twitter mould. It's full of very informative ideas on how to market yourself, or simply keep in touch with people that are of interest to you. The tips and website links are all excellent. If you want to get tweeting, this book is for you.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
Brand new to Social Network Marketing I have found this book helpful in small chunks.

That is what I love about the Dummies range - take a few pages apply it and then wait until I am ready to master the next phase of learning.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
If you are coming from marketing you may find this book helpful but I found any useful information was buried deep in a welter of jargon. Jargon in which the author seems to revel. This coupled with the American English made it difficult to extract any useful content. The art of tweeting is to condense and simplify your message in to as few a words possible - an art which the author needs to refine.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2011
Whilst the world of Twitter can be some what difficult to navigate at the best of times; trying to use it as a revenue builder/visibility & Branding exercise etc for your business can be extremely hard.

Kyle addresses these points in an un-patronizing way and helps shed a transparent light on the confusing approaches of Twitter marketing. I have already had my marketing team incorporate some of the books fundamentals and philosophy's within your own business model.

Tom Ports
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
I had no idea of the power of social networking in the field of marketing, or rather, I had heard about it but had no idea how to unlock it.

After I had read Kyle's book, I was fully equipped with all I needed to enter this sphere of activity with confidence. I saw astonishing results on my websites stats within the first few days. Seriously good advice.

Not only a very easy to follow how-to guide, but stacks of other twitter-related tools available to make the process easy to master, I plan on keeping this book close at hand in order to glean further benefits.

Should you read this book? If you are in business of any kind, definitely!

Well done.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
The problem with the social media and digital marketing titles in the ‘For Dummies‘ series is that they were ahead of their time, and by that I mean that they all came out so long ago that the landscape has changed almost beyond recognition.

This book is only five years old, but five years is a long time in the age of the internet and most of the step-by-step guides in here are now as good as useless, because Twitter’s interface has changed so much. Likewise, some new features have been added to the site that don’t get a mention here, and other features have been made redundant.

But that said, it’s still a well-written introduction to the world of social media marketing, and the actual concepts that Lacy espouses are still just as relevant – you’ll just have to figure out how to apply them in this new landscape, is all.

And at the end of the day, isn’t that what a book like this is about? I’m pretty sure that Lacy will be happy as long as you read it and feel inspired to do something – this isn’t a step-by-step guide on how to become a Twitter superstar, it’s just an introduction that tells you the most important things that you’re likely to need to know so that you can take what you learn, go off and do your own thing.

So there’s still a place for this book, particularly for new marketers who’ve never used Twitter before and who don’t know what the term ‘inbound marketing’ refers to. Otherwise, you might find that this book is just a little too basic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
Found this book extremely useful and simple to follow. After I had opened up a Twitter account I realised I had absolutely no idea how to operate it and then wondered why I had bothered. After reading this book and working with a "Tweetfriend", it all started to fall into place.

There so so much more to tweeting and this book explains how. Worth the purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
Do not buy this as it is totally out of date and does not cover any 2012 changes. I wasted my money, do not waste yours!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
As always with this series the information is presented lucidly and systematically. Everything is explained and exemplified. As a newcomer to Twitter I found this a highly useful introduction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)