Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2016
i buy this book at a discounted price and paid 5 times what it cost now

i buy a book every months or so and in the last 2 years i have to say that the most complete , easy to read and full of nice recipes ever

migoya is a idol and his dessert are phenomenal

the recipes are easy to follow and well explained

one of the top 3 of my huge collection
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Very detailed excellent recipes and concepts very interesting for a long term chef with basic pastry skills but can definitely improve that now the only thing I would say is glad I got it for £45 and personally think it not worth 188 personally
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
A perfect manual for those who are interested in pastry and desserts. This books covers all the basics and a bit more, and therefore, it is something I truly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
This book did not disappoint. The desserts in this book are modern, exciting and stunningly executed. The photography is beautiful, and every element of the dessert you see pictured from the sauce to the décor is included in the recipes. You won't find traditional or hot plated desserts in this book, and some of the recipes and techniques may be just out of reach for the home cook or pastry chef in an average kitchen (e.g. use of dehydrator and molecular cooking ingredients) but still, this beautiful book and definitely a book that you will return to again and again for plating and recipe inspiration.
44 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Got this book for my husband who is a chef and he loves it. He is very much impressed by the content of it. Has a great amount of knowledge and information in it. He recomends it to anybody who wants to be on a professional level in regards to desserts. He has many books but this one is one of his favourites.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
over a year I spend my money buying all michelin chefs book I could find until I bought this one .... this book is a "must " have in your library if you don't have it . it's clearly the most complete book of pastry I have ever buy , even better than the michelin books . I love the part where he is explaining wich combination of flavour work and why . You have few recipes . Explanation of the new molecular cooking etc etc ... very complete book . thanks to francisco migoya for this book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2016
The content and the creativity of the chef have absolutely no points to lose, the recipes have a vast variety of styles including Japanese, Vietnamese, European, American, etc; ideas flooded my mind when I read it. The book focuses on combinations of ingredients and depth of taste; for basic techniques of baking, I recommend Baking and Pastry: Mastering the Art and Craft, it makes a good pairing and fundamental for this book.
It is mainly targeted to pastry chefs working in high-end restaurants, which some recipes involves specific equipment to complete.In spite of that, there are still some normal ones that are approachable. The Basic Elements (chapter one) introduced dessert making methods and ingredients combination in a very systematic and scientific manner. Then it goes to the Pre-desserts, Plated desserts, dessert buffets, passed-around desserts, cakes and petit fours sections respectively.
The dessert chapters start with the galleries of dessert items with explanations on choices of ingredients and method of ensembling. The galleries are followed by the building blocks of each dessert. I find this arrangement rather user unfriendly. One has to flip back and forth to connect the recipe and get the whole picture while the page reference is single way instead of in both ways. The ensembling is also only available in text, which I think it would be clearer if they had a cross-sectional image of the desserts.
The cover is a sleeve instead of printed on the hardcover; it has a bit folded marks and scratch marks on it. The photographs in the book are defined and mouth watering.
Finally, this book is really expensive (even on discount), but for those who are looking for new ideas in dessert making or enthusiastic in exploring taste and flavors, this is a book that is worth keeping.
*Item delivered the next day of ordering (non-Prime).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
What can I say, this book is packed with unusual but well thought out balanced desserts and mignardeses which may be a chalenge for even experienced chefs. Lots of technical details are in here, nothing is left out. As always Mr Migoya has been thorough and concise. A real tour de force!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
I'm a pub chef and wanted to expand my dessert offerings and knowledge so thought I'd add this to my collection.

The creations within are stunning, and I would love to try all of them.

There may be a few techniques I could use but the majority of it was all far too complex.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2016
Great book, exquisite pictures and delicious recipes. Bought for my chef partner, lots of detailed explanations, has really helped bring out his inner master chef, as well as getting his imagination flowing, and you know how they get around new recipe books! This book is great for already skilled bakers and pastry chefs as it is very labour intensive but has a good amount of tutoring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)