Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
46
4.4 out of 5 stars


on 19 March 2006
What is it they say? "If you could have only one book ...?" Well this should be it. A thin book (only 350 pages) for such a broad subject. Barbara Rockefeller gets right down to the core issues with absolute clarity and simplicity. She rapidly exposes flawed thinking and weak logic, debunking (very decisively) false optimism. This book shows you how to grow as a trader, and the book grows with you. Revisit it again and again over the years. I'd been trading for years before I found this book. I own (and have read) the major works (Murphy, Link, Masonson, Nison, etc). Like many experienced traders I was getting buried in the analysis and begun to lose sight of the basics. Rockefeller rips away the crap. On the front cover she claims you will be able to Identify Trends, Improve Timing, Never Make A Big Loss, Trade As A Business. That's a tall order for one book. This one does what it says on the tin. Get it. You won't need anything else to become profitable. If you've got other books, or are thinking of getting some, then look at them through Rockefeller's eyes and you'll never get bogged down again.
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Don't expect any secrets, the info provided here can be found free of charge on websites
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2006
Uses the normal `Dummies' layout.

Although clearly it was written for US readers (examples are all US companies and amounts in Dollars) it is relevant to analysis of all stock markets including UK. The techniques relate to charts of all kinds of shares, currencies and commodities. The suggested websites are only useful to a US reader. Reading other books as well will help UK users.

Try "Pocket Guide to Trading Online" by Alpesh Patel - also available on Amazon. This is much more focused for the UK market and gives UK websites.

I have been trading for the past year using TA and found that I learnt quite a bit more on techniques and indicators that I had not tried.

This will now be one of my Reference books to help me improve my share trades.

Recommended
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2011
This book is about Technical Analysis in general, but Forex traders should still read it. I mention this because many Forex traders won't buy books without Forex in the title.

The author explains in simple to understand terms the basics for understanding charts, using indicators, trade management and setting up a plan. All without being overly simplified or a lot of filler mumbo jumbo. For a Dummies book, I didn't feel like it was being "dumbed down".

This is an excellent reference book that you can keep beside you when you are doing chart analysis. If you are new to trading and want to really learn what you need to know about technical analysis then this is the book for you. It will teach you the basics and give you a good platform to continue your research and knowledge gathering. It will also arm you with enough knowledge to avoid a lot of the scams out there.

She is very honest about the fact that there is no perfect system, but by following this book through you can choose the tools you need, understand and believe in to give you the best chance at making good trades.

Buy this book; the risk/reward is in your favor.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2012
Overall a great book which filled many gaps in my trading knowledge. Every chapter had an AHA! moment. It starts off by building a good foundation of the basics before getting into the advanced analysis. The only thing that lets it down is the charts and diagrams. I was expecting full page colour charts with labels etc every other page but the diagrams are very poor little black/white scribbles which are sometimes hard to read. Some chapters have 5-10 or more pages of text at a time with no accompanying charts/diagrams which left me struggling to imagine what the author was trying to put across. In the 'Bringing it all together' chapter where indicators are combined the charts were a mess and really needed to be full page colour affairs.
Also towards the end there's a chapter on trading strategies but it got quite vague and the author never says which ones she uses. There was no killer 'this is the best indicator combination' to use for trend/swing trading either which left me with even more questions after i finished the book. Also the candlestick chapter is very short and just seems to be a teaser to get you to buy the other book (i've just ordered the candlestick for dummies as its only £6.86) and there's nowhere near enough emphasis on pivot point trading. Overall a good buy for the money
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2008
Despite this being for "Dummies" it's incredibly detailed and covers just about everything that one needs to start trading with Technical Analysis.

It begins with market basics and I came off reading this with no previous knowledge of technical analysis besides what I had been told by a friend of mine who trades.

It follows through to cover dynamic and momentum indicators in as much detail as you'll need. It doesnt pay to go too into things since indicators INDICATE and do not REVEAL. They give the most likely possibility of what will happen but that's where stop losses come in.

It teaches you early on that money management and long term survival are key. For the price, this is the best technical Analysis book out there. You mat not understand something at first but if you soldier on, things will start to become clear.

SUGGESTION: Read the entire book BEFORE you begin to trade. Read it twice to re-affirm all the knowledge but careful with following it TOO closely. Especially if spreadbetting where the candle formations are created artifically and do not show TRUE market sentiment at the time. Very sueful for CFD and real Share Trading though. You may want to get INVESTING IN SHARES for Dummies too and for a whole trading system to start off with, buy COME INTO MY TRADING ROOM by Alexander Elder. very inspirational for the novice trader.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
Like most for dummies books I think it does a great job in introducing you to the topic and leading you onto more advance resources. I don't think this book is enough to start trading in the worlds financial markets but I do believe its a key stepping stone to being able to do so. I think that unlike some of the other for dummies books I have read I think that all the information in this book has a use.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2009
Although a few years old (and American) this book is still more than beneficial to the UK trader (beginner or otherwise); and costing less than the average dealer fee for a trade - hardly expensive.

Plenty of very good information in it, no magic formulas or false promises, just a good insight into technical analysis - what it is, why you should use it and the commonly used techniques.
I'd already been using a bit of TA, but this made it clearer, explained it and gave better understanding of how to use it - trends, momentum, understanding market sentiment etc... well worth the money and easy to read as well (although take your time with it, there is plenty of information to absorb)

If you're new to trading, i'd recommend some other books first (Naked Trader 2nd ed by Robbie Burns for example), then use this to add on as technical analysis is about human nature: when to buy, not what or how to buy.... also a bit of economic research helps (The little book of bull moves in a bear market by Peter Schiff is very informative, yet understandable).

Overall, I give 4*, it's certainly helping me improve - and you've got to be constantly improving (remember to make money, someone has to be losing it!). It doesn't quite get 5* as there are a couple of things I'd like to have seen (elliot waves for example).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
The books starts off slowly with the first 5 chapters dedicated to general market indicators and managing yourself as a trader. All pretty obvious stuff but then from Chapter 6 onward it really comes alive with very clear explanations of all the major indicators and charting techniques. This book is a lot better than you might expect of a 'dummies' book. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2011
Much easier to get to grips with this subject than other books I have read. Not to say it's easy and never will be. To successfully trade stocks and Forex is a challenging business. If it were easy everybody would be doing it and making millions. Have good hope that the info contained in this book will do the business.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)