Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2009
This is an excellent book for anyone who loves the sea or is interested in adventures around the world. I bought it for a sailing friend but it's a fascinating and enjoyable read even if you've never set foot on a boat. Really informative, with enough factual detail to give you a feel for whether you'd want to attempt any of the adventures yourself and a bit of sailing history, but also an entertaining read. There's a range of boating related adventures, not just traditional yaghting, all of them with large, inspiring photos. I thought it was really good value and highly recommend it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
No book can replace the joy of the real thing - but this is a brilliant reminder of what it's all about.

Superb pictures from a wide and eclectic range of experiences I've found this a real pleasure to dip into - just like the waters of the Ionian!!

Also the production qualities really stand out. I find it rare nowadays to find a paperback where the production values still add to the pursuit of reading, but this is one of them.

Really glad I've got it - it complements the other, more practical or jokey, sailing books around.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
I was given this book for my birthday and I loved it. Loved it. I have just started sailing and this book has really inspired me to crack on. The quality of the writing / pictures is superb too.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
beautifully presented, great photos, punchy text. i've been to several of the places reviewed and am now very keen to go to the ones i have not! works for experienced sailors and those who are not but like reading about adventure and global destinations. i'm always glad to find something like this with such broad appeal - makes xmas shopping very easy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2010
Great book full of wonderful photos, sailing destinations to long for and, as something of a balance, a few events that one would hope never to experience, such a spending time in a life-raft.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2010
Bought this for a mate who is a keen sailor, but currently with the army out in Afghanistan. He loves it. It has been the perfect book to take with him for a bit of escapism. Only problem now is that his wife knows he will be trying out half the adventures when he gets back.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
This book isn't bad, it gave me some good ideas, but there are a number of things that let it down:

- The pictures are very generic and only have a loose connection to the words; they don't have captions so you are never sure what they are showing, and at least one is badly photo-shopped with a whale clearly inserted into the foreground.

- A number of factual errors occur in the text, e.g. apparently 'the English Channel is only 6km wide at it's narrowest', that would be news to those that have sailed there!

- In attempting to include 100 experiences they have had to add quite a few non-sailing activities like surfing and wake boarding.

In general the book feels quite soulless, it has been created with agency photos and there are few if any personal touches or experiences in the text.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
This was a gift for my father on buying his first yacht. He doesn't stop talking about this book!!! So there is a story in itself!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Got this for my nephew and he seemed thrilled. He's interested in sailing and this is the sort of book you can dip in and out of.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)