Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
16
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2012
Hello Everyone!
i am a diver and a photographer, i am far from perfection in both. but i am striving. this book may appeal to non-divers out there, but i doubt if any divers, photographers, adventurers would like it at all. the writing is terrible, misspelled, and not proof read. it is therefore providing inaccurate information about the sites, which can be potentially DANGEROUS! The photographs are of such poor quality that they show you the underwater world as a murky, strange place full of shadows and unfocused blur.
If you have a child who wants to dive and you want to discourage it, buy that child this book!!! the kid will be frightened or bored with the idea of diving.
If you are looking for an informative guidebook on diving in different sites around the world i would suggest Footprint's "Diving The World" or "Diving Southeast Asia".
The reviewers who like this book never read it, have no interest in diving or photography or adventure, bought it as a gift for someone else, or are using it as paper weight/shelf filler. don't waste the money, time and space.
have great diving adventures!!
peace
bart
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2009
The book covers the best dives sites around the world, with well written sections that describe each dive in a good level of detail. Having dived several of the sites, the photos and narrative capture the essence of each dive beautifully for both the experienced diver and non-diver. The tips on how to get to each dive site, along with a summary of the visibility, currents and depths really bring each dive to life.

Stunning pictures and inspiring writing from two very experienced divers make this a lovely book, and a good one for the coffee table!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
Very disappointing. The information is thin and many of the pictures are very poor indeed. I had hoped for much better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2009
This book has a lovely balance of stunning photos, practical information and it is written with heart. For the dives I wouldn't actually do (ie they are too cold!) I still got a real sense of the experience. This was written by people who love what they do.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
This book was made in a few days. That is the only way to explain:

1. Half the photos are out of focus
Look at page 3, p.5, p.17, p.47, p.51, p.67, etc.

2. The text is unedited and full of errors.
A headline reads: "Hervey Bay is located in south-eastern Queensland, particularly between May and August" (p.168)

3. The information quality about the dive sites is really poor.
I have been to many of the sites in the book. So I know that Similan in Thailand is only open half of the year. You might want to put that in a dive guide. And how can the water in Lofoten have "good visibility" and "dark and menacing with low visibility" at the same time (p.178)

There are plenty of much better alternatives to this book on the market!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
i did not order this or I car not remember getting this but I do not like the thought of diving and have never been so I would not even think about getting a book like this so that why I have marked it like this as I didn't buy this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
This is an excellent, well thought through book that would be of interest not just to divers. It has really useful information on the locations that anyone thinking of visiting these places would find extremely useful. The pics are stunning and the whole book is very easy to read and lovley to look at. The authors have really thought about what the reader wants to get from the book - you won't be disappointed!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
got this for my dad. lovely images and arrived in perfect condition - easy to read and plan a happy retirement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2011
This book was bought with great anticipation when reading the title. Unfortunately it does not live up to its name!
Not the ultimate book but instead, a big disappointment.
If you've heard the saying "Jack of all trades, master of none" then you'll get the idea.
Rather than attempt to give information on 100 dives around the world (which actually only amounts to just a few sentances), it would have been much better to give a significantly more detailed account of perhaps just the best 20. As it is, I got bored after reading just a few pages. The information given for each site had some value but there just wasn't enough of it.
The photography was however, generally of a good quality. Compared to other picture books though, it would still fall way short of an extraordinary visual experience.
If I had the opportunity to thumb through the pages before purchasing, would I have bought it? NO. Not even if it was going for a fiver! There are just too many other books which do a much better job.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2009
This book arrived in the post this morning and I'm putting off writing my Christmas cards, as I can't seem to put it down.
I'm a complete diving novice, having recently snorkelled off the Great Barrier Reef and also just tried on diving gear and had a swift lesson under the boat; but this book is inspiring me to become much more adventurous.
The photos just seem to draw me in and make me want to be there, to experience some of the beauty and mystery of the depths.
I'm also delighted that the book is so informative and laid out so well, with basic information on each dive regarding the following: how to get there; a bit about the surrounding dry land; what you might see on the dive; depths; access; visibility; water temperature; type of dive; currents!!!; experience level; what's in the area etc.
I shall really enjoy dipping into this over Christmas, when everyone else is starting to get bored! A bargain price, too. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)