Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2015
It's a really good book to have, explained easily and contains a lot of useful information. I've used it as a part of my references for the Critical Care course. definitely recommend it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
This book was a lifesaver when I was writing about the endocrine system. I cant recommend this book more for any healthcare students or anyone wanting to understand a condition or system better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2016
Fantastic book. Very informative!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Excellent book on the subject of Applied pathophyisology. It doesn't go to deeply into every illness , but gives you enough information to understand the basic of what can go wrong. There are introductions where you see what you already know and learning outcomes. The end of each section has a test and a word search . The illustrations are very clear and easy to understand and drawn in such a way that here is not too much going on . the text is clear and concise and easy to understand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 May 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Blackwell have always produced excellent textbooks on a variety of subjects and this does not let them down.

The book is listed as for "nursing and health care students" but I would suggest that any student studying human biology would find the information in this book interesting.

The book is divided into chapters, each one is indicated by a different colour so you can jump to the area with ease rather than having to guess and then flick pages.

The main chapters are:

- cell and body tissue physiology
- cancer
- inflammation, immune response and healing
- shock
- heart and associated disorders
- vascular system and associated disorders
- blood and associated disorders
- renal system and associated disorders
- respiratory system and associated disorders
- nervous system and associated disorders
- gastrointestinal system and associated disorders
- nutrition and associated disorders
- endocrine system and associated disorders
- reproductive system and associated disorders
- pain and pain management
- musculoskeletal system and associated disorders
- fluid and electrolyte balance and associated disorders
- the skin and associated disorders
- the ear, nose and throat and associated disorders

This is an excellent textbook which is easily accessible to all readers and students.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2016
I bought this book as I'm in my third year of nursing and it was recommended by our lecturers for our science exam which is mainly on pathophysiology of different conditions. Although it has a lot of information about a wide variety of conditions and diseases, I feel that it doesn't go into an awful lot of depth with the pathophysiology. Yes it is great for learning about the physiology, but to answer our questions for our exams it doesn't go into enough depth. For example one of my questions may be on DKA but the book only contains one small paragraph on the 'pathophysiology', if you could even call it that, its more like a definition of DKA and doesn't explain the actual process. I will keep the book as it will be helpful in the future when I become qualified to read up on things that I haven't come across before, but for my revision purposes it just doesn't have enough.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Peate and Nair successfully present human physiology in a manner anyone can understand. They have made non-threatening, what can too many be an intimidating subject.

Each chapter is coloured coded for speed of reference. The colours used in the chapter glossaries were fainter than I would have liked, but that is a minor issue.

There are plentiful, clear coloured illustrations throughout and every medical term used is concisely explained.

Each chapter is written by an experienced lecturer in that area of nursing, so that you can be sure that you are getting the best up to date information from those who know how to teach novice students.

At the end of each chapter are friendly exercises, so that you can test your knowledge if you wish. I also like that the chapters end with references to other resources that are given full prominence, rather than being consigned to small print.

The wonders of modern printing, means that even at 600+ pages, this book is still comfortable to handle and not too heavy to carry about.

As introductory texts go, this is about as good as they get.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book provides an extremely interesting read on pathophysiology. The flow of this book is very good, well written and easy to follow. There is also an accompanying website that you can visit which provides additional material in order to test your knowledge. At the end of each chapter there is a glossary to remind you of the main topics covered within the chapter text, as well as word searches and activities to test your knowledge.

The topics covered include, cell & body tissue, cancer, inflammation & immune response and healing, shock, the heart, vascular system, blood disorders, renal system, respiratory system, nervous system, gastrointestinal system, nutrition, endocrine system, reproductive system, pain, musculoskeletal system, fluid & electrolyte balance, skin, and the ear, nose & throat.

This book is aimed towards nursing and healthcare students but provides an interesting read for those with an interest in the human body.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 June 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Another great book from Wiley with interactive exercises online. The book itself is a beautiful text book, clearly set out with different colours for each chapter. The language is easily comprehensible and the pictures are extremely detailed. This is a book for all those interested in the human body and its functions. It includes case studies to make the material more relevant.

At the end of each chapter you have a few exercises which include fill in the blanks, labelling of diagrams, a word search and a glossary of terms.

The only reason for the one star less is the typos which occur in the main text and word searches both in the searches and the lists which can be confusing and irritating, so watch out for that. However, other than this one flaw, it is a thoroughly enjoyable book due to its simplicity and clarity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Got this because I am studying Reflexology and have to also pass a course in Anatomy and Physiology (including some basic knowledge of pathology). Thought this book would make an excellent complement to our text book - and it does. There is great in-depth information presented in a very organised and student-friendly fashion - giving more depth and thus greater understanding than our own textbook - and it includes revision exercises in the book and online. Fabulous.
For anyone studying A&P - whether for allopathic or alternative health purposes, this is a super book to add to your library. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse