Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 2 February 2013
This book was recommended to me by one of the most talented UX experts I've met when I expressed an interest in learning more about UX and user interface design.

As the world of commercial web-design becomes an increasingly competitive world, so the importance of a positive user experience becomes increasingly important. Long gone are the days of static websites and basic functionality, today's successful websites have to leave the user feeling like they have been at a five-star spa. Designing this user experience is what this book aims to teach you.

The book is broken down into four main sections such as tools and processes with each section further broken into subsections for each topic. Plenty of coverage is given to each topic, though as others have said the book does at times feel 'waffly' and over-written.

As a newcomer to UX design you'll find a wealth of information here which while it won't make you an expert it will give you the breadth of information on the subject to really get to grips with the subject.

A seasoned UX professional will find interesting perspectives and perhaps more detail on topics you've only skimmed before.

In summary then, a good if not brilliant book that earns five stars for the wealth of information and breadth of the topics covered, though almost only got four because of the places few where the book feels forced.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2014
This is a fantastic book. If there was a 3-year degree course in UX, I can't imagine it would teach you any more than this book. I read it once through, bookmarked and drew all over it and now revisit it regularly for my work (web design/basic development/project management). The first half focused on tools and methodologies for establishing your audience, assessing your effectiveness and dealing with the relevant people involved. The second half is a reference guide to web pages with different goals and how best to achieve those.
I have so many design books, dev books, UX books; if they were all lost in a house fire, this is probably the only one I'd need to buy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2014
Great book. Covers a lot of best practices when taking on UX projects and breaks down key elements of UX projects in a concise and understandable way. Definitely a book I can see myself coming back to again and again in the coming months.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2013
I recommend this book as it outlines the UX - clear layout, good use of images and description on the book - worth buying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2016
Love this text book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2014
Covers the bases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2015
This book should have been proof read before going to print. There are numerous grammatical errors and spelling mistakes which I found very distracting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2014
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2014
Great literature. I use it in my education in Web Development.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 August 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As an old-school, stuck-in-his-ways developer, I must admit that I was cynical about the burgeoning new fields of functional design, and recoiled at trendy buzzwords and abbreviations like the book title's 'UX'. For a long time, I was focused on simply 'making stuff work', signing everything else off to the graphic designer. This book does a good job of challenging my old, dogged position!

This title looks at UX and the vital role it should rightfully have in planing along both dev and design stages of online projects. The structure of the book emphasises the planning-led nature of UX-focused development, and if you're an 'organic' developer (like I most certainly was!), you may well just see the error of your ways in the elegance and tidiness of the approach the book describes. With hefty attention to the entire process, including client meetings and feedback, it's a real-world workflow you'll pick up here, which both reflects the industry accurately, and equips the reader with the expertise to take advantage of it in the form of detailed, clear but concise technical chapters.

As with all Smashing books, layout and style are key to success - the volume comes across as friendly but knowledgeable, chapters are focused, not over-long and broken down expertly into subsections, the book is subdivided well into four overarching larger sections, and there's a good index, making the book great as a reference as well as a step-by-step guide. An excellent hand-held introduction to user-centred development, for both bright young things, and older hands!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)