Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 21 June 2013
I recommend this book as it outlines the UX - clear layout, good use of images and description on the book - worth buying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
... it's a very good manual. I'm not a big fan on trendy abbreviations, especially when the term itself is not altogether that easy to understand. Anyhow UX is user experience. In this case about how your website works for the visitor.

Like a number of the Smashing titles it also covers the business and the planning side. If you offer some form of consultancy or design service in this area then you are given a walk through of how to present, blueprint and manage a project. If you are not doing that, then it still has enough high quality material to help you in your web design.

The overall understanding of the flow of user experience is well explained and to be honest, I like the authors' approach. Some chapters get very specific on their subject such as menu design, search, home page design, shopping carts and the use of photos. If you were to dip into these chapters when you are developing that area of a site, I am sure you would come away with some very useful tips and caveats.

Overall a very well written and easy to understand book. Some of the tools they recommend are no more complicated than pen, paper and post-it notes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 August 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a book on UX Design. A term that has sprung up in the industry recently. What used to be more commonly referred to as usability, it has evolved into a more specialised role, much as SEO did a few years back. UX design is now a 'must have' for any web designer or UX designer as the job title seeking lot prefer to call themselves these days. Regardless, UX design is here to stay and a valuable skill set to have. Why? Because it forces you to properly plan a web site from the get go, and your website creations are better for it.

Like other Smashing books, it offers some guidance on the business side of things which may or may not be of use to you, depending on whether your client or agency side.

The book feels like if waffles on a bit which I find with most Smashing books. Almost as if they have a word count they're trying to achieve. It kind of makes me skim the book more than I should but that's just me...

Give it a go if you're new to UX or if you're in the field already.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
Great literature. I use it in my education in Web Development.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 June 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is absolutely brilliant! I'm a Senior User Experience Architect, and finding good books that cover a multitude of different techniques that are used in this industry is not always easy (especially when you want to recommend books to people who don't know much about what you do). There are so many of them that go into a lot of detail. Prior to getting this book, I would have suggested getting Communicating Design by Dan brown, which is a really useful book that covers a lot of the key deliverables for User Experience. The only problem with it, is that it's very Americanised, and it doesn't cover all of the methodology that goes behind delivering a User Centred Design approach.

This book covers everything you'll need and probably a lot more besides. The section on running a card sort is worth getting the book for that on its own. You could quite easily give this book to someone who doesn't work in UX and they would understand what it is that you do, and for the large part - why. Written with both a UK and a US market in mind it's a really useful book for reference.

The only gripe I would have, is why put the section on personas after task mapping? Surely you need to know who the users are before you start mapping anything against them? (NB - I always start with the who, before the what / why / how etc). Regardless - this book gives you the basic fundamentals to get you going, it doesn't however, replace the need to read books like 'Don't Make Me Think'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2016
Love this text book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Covers the bases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
Overall I am happy with this purchase I was expecting a little more depth to it but it still stands up as a good reference for new and experienced UX practitioners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Good price. Well packaged. Arrived promptly. Just what she wanted. I'm being asked for 10 more words, but really, that's all I want to say!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)