Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
11
3.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I am a PhD student, and one of the most difficult aspects for anyone beginning research is knowing "how" to do it. I have known many PhD students who have had a difficult time (me included!) with understanding how to make effective use of your resources to increase research quality.

This books covers a number of researches aspects including supervisory interactions, assessments (including viva) and the write-up. The write-up section is actually quite extensive and has proven to be hugely valuable for me personally. There are also a nice-set of references for further reading. I should add that this is a very factual book. I have read more humorous PhD/research guides (funny cartoons depicting the life of a graduate student are plentiful!), whereas this book is a more of a formal, no-nonsense guide.

All-in-all, this book is spot-on, and I would definitely recommend it to this who want to know more about how to conduct better research, are contemplating a research career and first year PhD students.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Firstly, this is a nice concise introduction to a very important topic. It is not an final end-all book, and in noting the fields of medicine and health sciences are wide with certain specialties involving their own considerations, there is much to be said about going further into the specialties to meet those considerations.

In being accepted for a research position, it is important to have a layout akin to project management. Certain things have to be done at certain times with certification and approval at the start AND finish. Budget considerations may come into play for more advanced projects. And it is always easier to present your findings in the way you want to write them up.

Unfortunately not all project supervisors are created equal. Not all senior researchers are helpful. This is especially so if you are at a preliminary stage. This is where this book comes in it is a very readable doable guide. It does come across as basic, but that is its strength, basic is easier to contemplate and undertake than complex. Complex is what you should be getting from supervisor or those who have been through it all (why every research student I have known has photocopied every paper produced by their predecessors in the department)

Start by getting this book if you are considering undertaking research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 October 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is OK. Just OK. I think it would be best suited to medicine students who are intercalating and bio/life science students who attend universities where there isn't much, if any, practical work in years 1 and 2. The advice is good, but if you've done a lot of practical work in the first two years of your degree there really isn't anything new this book has to offer. It is, in my opinion, grossly overpriced. At an RRP of £19.99 you may expect a nice thick book. This is a small, thin book, 135 pages in length. If your university is even remotely decent they'll give you guidelines for your project (probably in the form of a handbook) themselves anyway. The book does have its positives; nice layout, high quality paper, good information (for those who have never done any lab/project work before at least), clear and easy to understand. Again, it's not that it's a bad book, but it is overpriced and, probably for most students, an unnecessary expense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
While pitched to BSc students I think the advice in this book is far too simple to be of use. If followed I would be worried about the grade a student may achieve. While it is very simple to understand I can not imagine I would have done well following it, maybe for a simpler degree course? The advice also seems quite specific to the author's own experience, from the experience of myself and my friends this is not how you would begin the task of a research project at our university. This text does not stand out in a fairly crowded marketplace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was expecting a thick, substantial book but this is a thin, 135 page volume. It is very basic with sections on things like "What is a supervisor?" who are the assistants etc. I was hoping for in detail and high level information to help me structure and layout my dissertation but this is way too basic - more GCSE/A level project standard. As a BSc student you should have already spent quite some time in a lab before doing your final project and you would be aware already of all the people who work in a lab etc.

This is an expensive, tiny book and is not useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 October 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A compact well structured book with helpful advice for each stage of the process, from deciding whether a research project is the appropriate course of action, getting started, use of technology and much more right through to submission of the completed work. Also contains sensible advice for working with your supervisor and colleagues together with constructive ideas for when things go wrong. The format is very user friendly, with each chapter having a brief overview at the start and a summary of key points at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 January 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone interested in a postgraduate research degree as its much too basic. I think its pitched at the level of say a medical student interested in an intercalated BSc. It covers the basics of selecting a project, what to look for in a supervisor, project planning, writing up and preparing for assessment as well as a helpful chapter on when things go wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have to slightly disagree with the author, as I don't believe this is anywhere near in depth to be a standalone text. I've always been slightly put off by these 'how to' guides and I think this is one of the reasons why. It's an interesting read and a good resource to fall back on, but I don't think anyone should be relying 100% on a text such as this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 October 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is extremely basic. Although written as guide to research projects for BSc students, the book style and advice is so dumbed down it's pitched about the level of a 14 year old writing their first research report. We get pictures of a badly dressed scientist blowing bubble gum bubbles to tell us that we must behave appropriately in a laboratory. The small amount of layout and review advice is similarly GCSE level.

To say this book takes you to and through a viva is laughable. The viva advice is practice a lot and make a note to turn off your mobile phone when presenting. That's pretty much it.

Much of the book focusses on making "a poster" of your research findings and putting them up in your bedroom until you move to a house of your own. If as a BSc student you feel that's the advice you need, then go for it. Otherwise look for something more age (and ability) appropriate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 December 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Author, Caroline Beardsmore's 'How to do your research project etc etc' is aimed at students involved in medicine and health projects. Despite it being a slim 139 pages,the author manages to put across just what is involved when undertaking a research project and advises how to select a project which they can get to grips with without finding themselves bogged down in dry academia.In short,the project has to be stimulating as well as educational to bring out the best in the subject. 'How to etc' runs to 7 chapters and covers all bases,including 'when things go wrong'. A fine short work to dip into before and during your research project.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here