Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 10 May 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is one of the most important books on leadership. if not THE most important. For anyone with any pretentions of being a leader is simply indispensable. Although this is a thoroughly updated edition (It was first published 25 years ago) it's a reminder that although the skills required to be a leader do change at the margins over time at the core there are some in-alienable truths that hold good.

"The One Minute Leader" it is not, but it's still written in a style that easy on the eye.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 March 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I found this book to be boring, repetitious and padded out. Harsh words. Maybe the hangover effect of having only just put down David Bolchover's "The Living Dead" - a story of being paid not to produce anything (see also any Dilbert strip). Rather than all the employees waiting desperately to be led, the world has a lot of people being underused and probably not that upset, as it gives them time to surf the net. So I must try to be fair to "The Leadership Challenge" and give a review on it not coloured by my mood.
This book might work for you if (1) you are a manager in a large US business, and (2) you haven't read much else about leadership. It has plenty of stories of how managers performed certain acts and treated their people in certain ways to drive the business forward. But I would rather recommend two other authors to you, especially if you are in the UK - Michael Williams (Mastering Leadership) and John Adair (Action Centred Leadership). These two books (and they have written others) cut to the chase much better than "The Leadership Challenge" and appear more relevant. I have read so many books on management and leadership over the past 20 years that I have grown blase about them, but Williams and Adair have my respect. Had "The Leadership Challenge" been abridged, I might have enjoyed reading it, but my heart sank as I plodded through it.
In summary - probably better suited to US readership; OK if you haven't read much before on Leadership. If you are in the UK and seeking to be a sharper leader, go for my other recommendations. If you want real life stories of leadership in business, check out (Sir) John Egan and the Jaguar story - it's a cracking story.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2012
I've been working with the development framework provided by Jim Kouzes & Barry Posner for 25 years. The Leadership Challenge books and the associated 360 survey tool provides a practical and well researched tool for developing both ones own and others leadership skills. Leadership is both observable and learnable. The 5th edition adds to that body of knowledge with new case studies, more international examples and data as well as new research into positive workplace attitudes and the relationship between leadership behaviours and workplace attitudes. Need to convince someone to invest in leadership development - give them a copy of this book today!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 November 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The book has always been very well thought of - with good reason - and this update is excellent, it really brings it into the modern era. As per the title, it's very much focused on leadership, rather than management - and it shouldn't be seen as only having relevance to members of a senior management team. As the authors put it, "it is the work of leaders to inspire people to do things differently, to struggle against uncertain odds, and to persevere towards a misty image of a better future"; I couldn't agree more, and everyone - whether you manage others or not - can show leadership. The values expounded here will show you how, if you take them seriously.

Having just completed an MBA, I used this tome for quite a few citations and references, and it informed a lot of my thinking around leadership - it's just as relevant as it always was, with the update even more so. You're unlikely to need many other books on leadership during your career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 December 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Here Kouzes & Posner deliver an updated version of 'The Leadership Challenge.' This new edition is based on extensive research and reflections from it's first publication. Using 25 years of outstanding research, they've updated their extraordinary work and re-created one of the best books you'll ever read on how to lead.

The Leadership Challenge has been my "go-to" authority for decades now and it will continue to inspire me and my work for years to come. The core legacy of their work: the five practices they identify are clear--if not exactly simple to achieve: 1) Model the way. 2) Inspire a shared vision. 3) Challenge the process. 4) Enable others to act. 5) Encourage the heart. The authors present new case studies as they focus on new challenges, new data and insight. Its also really attractively laid out.

Pacey brilliant leadership reference goodness!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 30 January 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Kouzes & Posner have been required reading for any developmental / leadership programme for the last 25 years, and I am pleased to say that this book is not just a 'rehash' of their previous edition but is full of new things alongside the tried and tested - new data, new case studies pulled from a much wider international base, as well as reflection on their previous work. Some say that leadership can't be taught, but this book provides essential structure, reinforcement and examples of good practice from acknowledged experts in the field. It's a must-read - you don't have to be a manager to be a leader !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 August 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The fact that this book has been around for five editions over twenty-five years is a double edged sword. It has become something of an exemplar of a certain way of approaching leadership and management - which attempts to boil down the wisdom into a few key phrases (such as model the way, inspire a shared vision, encourage the heart and so forth).

You could argue that the large number of responses to their Leadership Practices Inventory gives a sound quantative basis to their findings which have been refined over the years, but in truth whilst the presentation has been sharpened up, the approach and message has remained essentially the same (i.e. ask successful leaders how they do it). The down side is that this sort of approach is starting to look a little dated and maybe even one dimensional, and many will want to look more widely at some of the advances in psychological approaches or systems theory or indeed many other perspectives that have been made over the last 20 years to supplement and balance.

This is not a bad book, but I do personally think that it is showing its age. Added to which the style and tone can grate a little for non- American readers. So whilst my head recognises that there is some merit here, my heart just wasn't moved.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 July 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Yet another text on leadership and given the marketing blurb I had expected something special. But, to be honest, its not. The content is no different to what you'll find in dozens if not hundreds of books on leadership. I'm sure different people will find something beneficial between the covers but for me it was run-of-the mill.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 February 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Author's James Kouzes, Dean's Executive Fellow of Leadership, Leavey School of Business at Santa Clara University, and Barry Posner,Professor of Leadership and former Dean (1997-2009) of the Leavey School of Business, Santa Clara University have produced a revised,25th anniversary, 400+ page blockbuster of a book which has been regarded in many areas, as a modern classic. Addressing the multifarious aspects of management across the globe, the authors take on the problems which many in management encounter in their fields of responsibility, and offer empirical evidence as to how others in management have addressed and vanquished these problems. For those operating in a global field, Kouzes and Posner look at the cultural variances in management style and how those dislocated from a particular culture can get around the often impenetrable nuances within that market. A useful reference work for managers everywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 February 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I am studying a post grad in business management and have found this one of the clearest books on the market on change management. This book is suitable for students and practitioners as makes clear links between theory and practice. This book is currently one of my most referenced books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)