Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 26 December 2012
I have been a sewer for too many years than I care to remember and have found many intersting tips. Including handy tools to buy that have turned out to be invaluable in dressmaking. This is a very good book for the inexperienced a nd experienced alike
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
Quite a helpful reference book to keep in the sewing drawer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Great book very easy to understand
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Great book, love it thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2017
clear and easy to follow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
GOOD JOB I NEW THE TITLE MEANS FOR USING ON A TAILORS DUMMY OR I DON'T THINK MY DAUGHTER WOULD BE TALKING TO ME. REALLY GREAT BOOK FROM START TO FINISH IDEAL FOR ANYONE MAKING THEIR OWN CLOTHES OR A STUDENT STUDYING TEXTILES WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND MANY THANKS
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2011
As a complete beginner, I found this book fantastic! It gives all the basic essentials to get you sewing and breaks it in to simple steps to start making a variety of projects. Although I can't necesarily see myself making some of the projects, like a laptop sleeve for example, the skills learned are clearer transferrable to anything else you may have in mind from home decor to dress making projects and minor everyday alterations and fixes.

I found the background information about the properties and best uses of different fabrcs and how to lay out patterns etc really useful. I don't know that I would have coped without it!

The only thing I would say is that all the measurements given are in imperial units rather than metric which I guess is because this is still what is largely used in the US but is not the case in the UK. Not a huge issue though.

Also to potential buyers who may be considering not buying this book based on some of the less positive reviews, please bare in mind that these have not been split to reflect whether they refer to the old edition or the new edition which came out in March 2010 - most of the negative reivews seem to be pre March 10 so I would assume they are for the old edition. From the sounds of it the most recent one is much improved!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 3 October 2015
It's a useful book, taking the absolute beginner right from threading a needle through to altering patterns to fit and some quite complex professional techniques to alter existing clothes but... it's not inspiring. It's pages and pages of grey text and gret pictures. It's a bland manual, not a a happy guide.

Couple of things worth mentioning:

The book is entirely about machine sewing. A mere four pages cover hand sewing, and they're mainly about tacking.

The book is American and hasn't been amended for UK readers. This means you have to work in the American sewing terms, not British. There's not a huge difference, but if you're a beginner that learned a few basic sewing terms at your mother's knee it'll confuse the heck out of you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
I'm useless with a sewing machine, even got banned from using them at school because I was so clumsy and kept breaking the things! This book really helped, and guides you through plenty of tasks to get you started.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)