Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 6 July 2017
Misnomer......farfromsimplifieddifficulttofollowoutofsequenceinstructionseventuallyjustbecomesmassofwordscertainlyneedsrevisionorretitlingavoidandlookonwebformorerelevantandeasytofollowtipsandtricks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2012
Now this very fine book has been overtaken by events in that Adobe have introduced Photoshop CS6 but there will be many who are using CS5 and this book has much to commend it. Easy to use and refer to the explanations in this complicated software are invaluable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2016
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2011
I`m a bit of a beginner when it comes to CS5 ,lets face it - its a huge piece of software.
This book leads you step by step in a clear and easily understandable manner , from easy to difficult tasks, making anything you choose to tackle ,very rewarding.Such tasks , would be out of the reach of most beginners without this guide.
This book would also appeal to intermediate users , and I cannot praise the author enough for the way that she has styled this book , colour photos and numbered steps are invaluable.
If you`re looking for an undaunting introduction to CS5 , then look no further - simply brilliant.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2011
There are so many books on the market of this type, most are not well written and almost look as if they are designed to confuse, or at best assume you already have a superior knowledge of Photoshop already! you don,t, otherwise you would not be buying a book of this type.
This book is different, well layed out, easy to read, doe,s not leave you it a pit of confusion and enables you to progress onto more difficult subjects to experiment on, there is also a collection of images for this course available for down load on-line, although the Microsoft Snipping tool has to be used for extracting them from the downloaded file.
From only being introduced to CS5 Extended at the end of 2010 I can now cope with all the well layed out exercises and more besides
John Bentley. Liverpool.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2010
This is a great book for the amateur and professional.

First of all this is not one of those books you read from cover to cover. It has simple, easy to follow sections, nicely split up into little projects e.g. - how to change the eye colour, how to use the content aware fill, design a custom brush, alter depth of field, etc. One nice handy section is the how to make a contact sheet in bridge(never used that one before).

So, some basics and some more complicated things, presented in designer friendly sections. There is little theory, just straight to the point tutorials.

One handy point about the tutorials is it uses numbers and pictures of the menu or screen you are supposed to be on. Step 3 for instance, will have a corresponding No 3 on the picture, so you never have to hunt for the menu or button. Totally visual learning. A great time saver if a client asks you to do something and you can't remember how to do it. Also if you are a little scared of photoshop the step by step approach will guide you through. Remember though it is not a manual it is a tips and tricks book.

I have been using photoshop for a long time and I found it a good all round teaching aid and reminder of how to do the things I don't use very often, which is why I bought it.

Highly recommended
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2012
Books don't come much better than this. Top 100 Simplified Tips & Tricks is magisterially designed and lavishly illustrated. This is the only book on Photoshop CS5 that I know which really makes everything plain--the only one that doesn't leave you clamouring for the CS5 Help. Every move is laid out and accompanied by an illustration. It is wonderfully authoritative, but also allows you to strain at the leash, with very helpful tips. Lynette Kent explains, and then allows you to explore. It is a wonderfully graded guide, which allows you to skip without being whistled back.

I jumped from the first couple of chapters, having heeded such advice as changing the RGB, to the creative section in the back--and a couple of hours later I had transformed some of my pics into pen & ink and pencil drawings. Yes, the 'Tips & Tricks' extend way beyond any commonplace, and really get you somewhere.

If I were a Photoshop Dante, in the middle of a dark forest, I'd be damn glad to have Ms Kent as my Virgil.

This is by far the best book on Photoshop that I've read. Buy it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2012
I bought other books which gave me the required information but found them difficult to absorb in 'easy speak'

This book changed all that and is without doubt the second best purchase I have made (after Photoshop itself, of course!!)

Highly recommended. Enjoy....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2012
I have purchased this book with the hope of learning some tricks on CS5 and it really has some key tricks.
If you are a person who is new to CS5 and want to learn specific things then this is the book for you.
It gives step by step how to do explanation on many topics and you can't miss to learn them.
Saying that, as it does not start from the very basics of Photoshop, you shall have certain knowledge of PS otherwise you may have difficulties in learning but memorizing the moves.
On the other hand, if you already have read many books or online articles on PS or CS5 you must have already
learnt many tricks through those and which is the case for me.
In that respect i did not get much of " this i did not know " moments when i went through the book.
From that perspective the book was not so useful to me, at the same time it will be an excellent reference book
to keep in my library for " how was it? " questions for the actions I would not repeat so frequently.
This is why i give 5 star to it...
So highly recommended for the beginners of CS5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2013
Elements users who progress to CS5/6 will already know most of the information in this book, some key shortcut are given but overall it will be of little use to the experienced user of elements moving to CS5 it is reasonably well layed out and for the beggine rit will give you some help but there are better informative books available, adobe training videos are also a very good information resource
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)