Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2010
i dont normally review books but i felt i had to comment of what a great lesson this is in economic theory. having read it i feel like i have a better understandimg of economic theory than what five years academic study was able to teach me. always felt that keynesian theory was a perverse shamanistic science whilst being forve fed it. heres proof in irrefutable terms.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
this is one of those incredibly rare books; that takes an incredibly complex, tricky, messy subject and explains it in a way that a child could understand - it literally does. it describes how an economy grew and crashed (using the usa as an example) in a graphic, illustrated format.

the story itself is very one sided in its argument; using a theme that politicians meddling, amassing debt and outsourcing jobs overseas is the way in which the economy will crash - but by following the story's tone; it's very easy to see why the authors have come to this conclusion. it's very persuasive but commonsense should tell you the same outcome is going to happen...

i absolutely loved this book because it gives a great account to what has happened over the years with u.s. economy and the dangers of what may happen - the pictures are fantastic and i only wish more finance related books could be communicated in this way. 5 stars all the way...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
For those of you who want a clear and easily explained background on Economics this book is a must. It debunks a large number of common myths preached by Governments everywhere.

It also explains why metal and other solid items represent a safe haven against inflation...

Highly recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
Having just read the 'most useful critical review' of this book [it's a rant about this being a thinly-disguised force-feed of XYZ politics], I'll set out by saying: this book is very useful even if you don't subscribe 100% to the implications or politics of the theory it presents.
That said, I am searching eagerly for an intelligent critique of this book that is written with the same level of clarity (so don't direct me to an economics tome by your favourite historical figure unless it is _as readable and clear as this one_).
We have become too accepting that 'serious' books should be wrapped up in complicated scholarly language. It is refreshing that the Schiff family have altogether contributed fun and profound summaries of Economic Theory.
Where are the other books like this from the experts themselves? Bring them out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
Not much to say other than buy this book with all urgency, read it, and ponder why nobody has explained economics in this way to you before. The answer, in my view, is that it suits politicians, the State and bankers not to look at the world this way. Our economy is built on sand, and we need to go back to first principles, rebuild our nonsense 'alchemical' banking system to halt the booms and busts caused by inflation, central bank meddling, and politicians using our own money to bribe us. Otherwise we just keep kicking the can down the road and it will be our children that reap the bitter harvest that results.

Then give it to every one you know. It's that good, that easy to understand and that important.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2010
Very easy read and a nice introduction to economics and the monetary system, all told using common sense. Another great introduction to economics is "Economics in one lesson" by Henry Hazlitt.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2012
I bought this book for my daughter, she read it when she was 12 and understood and enjoyed it, now she has an interest in economics. Great book I would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2011
Schiff very effectively demonstrates the importance of sound money and savings to economic prosperity, he does this by giving an amusing overview of US economic history. My one complaint about this book is that he does not deal with the more complicated issue of the business cycle in any great depth, or when he does he does not address it in such terms, he instead gives a more general view of the effects of inflationary monetary policy and its effects on the economy over a long period of time, rather than discussing the cyclical downturns every 4-6 years that occur as a result.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2011
Purchased this book with delivery to Moscow, Russia. I've read this book from cover to cover in 3 hours and it is perfectly great economic reading for simple people.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
Believing that government has a duty to give us sound money and prevent that legalised theft called inflation I enjoyed this cleverly told tale of the folly that is Keynsian economics. Here is the Austrian school for dummies. In an era when our government loves to print money and call it quantitive easing not inflation, we need the message of this book as we continue to speed to an even bigger crash than the last one. One interesting but undeveloped theme in the book is that universal suffrage could be held to blame for our parlous economic state.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse