Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
12
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2007
Beth Rogers has established a huge reputation amongst marketers and this book should ensure the business community and students more widely, begin benefit from her insights. As a marketing director myself and someone who started in sales, I have long been frustrated by the attitude towards sales as a profession. Read this book and you will see how Beth understands Sales as a profession in the 21st century. As Neil Rackham states, in the Foreword, one looks for diagrams, graphs and models for a quick test of the quality of the book: Beth has inserted a plethora of quotations, a mass of data and Mr Rackham's test is passed with flying colours.
Unlike sales books of the past, which tend to be quick fix, motivational texts: this is serious, considered and yet fascinating and very practical. Beth's students at Portsmouth Business School studying Masters Degrees in Sales will find it as invaluable as my clients and colleagues, to whom I will recommend it with no hesitation!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2009
Thanks are due to Beth Rogers for putting together a book which stands up both as a cover to cover read and as a reference in times of need. It is unusual in this subject area to find a book that treads the divide between academia and practicality so well, not falling into the 'airport bookshop' sales types of books that are as common as they often are shallow.

A great read and a massive help to my recent MBA studies...thanks!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2009
This is essential reading for any current or aspiring sales leader, Its insights are excellent for goods times and the interesting times we face in 2009. "
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2008
Over the past few years, an important change has been taking place in sales, and Beth's book tells practitioners what to do about it. The change that I'm referring to is the `professionalisation' of sales; that is, a change from selling as a job, knocking on doors and collecting orders, to selling as a profession, where the sales person's role is to manage the overall relationship with a customer. This change, which started with key accounts (the most important customers of an organisation) is spreading into the wider sales arena, and it particularly affects sales managers.

Beth's book provides a really useful toolkit of frameworks, mini case studies, and practical `how to' advice. All of this is written in a clear, no-nonsense style. It even made me laugh out loud at several points, and that's not something you can often say about a management text!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2009
I was tired of reading Sales books and I was looking for a new approach in sales. Sales Management is a discipline that is underestimated. There are no MBAs, really few programs, and the only way to learn sales was doing it! and learning from your own mistakes. The book and the approach is a reality and the base for more research on the topic.

Beth has given a new approach to the discipline, the book is Sales Management oriented, and if this is what you are looking for, buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
Beth Rogers has created a Sales Management Manual for all those trying to develop and grow a sales team.
Full of great, practical examples, and written in everyday language, this book is essential reading for anyone looking to create a solid foundation, and a scalable business.
On a personal note - it's great to see a text of this calibre coming from a British talent.Rethinking Sales Management: A Strategic Guide for Practitioners
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2009
This is a great book for practising Sales Leaders and Managers who want to get the best from their sales force. It gives insights into strategy and also tactics for Sales Leaders who want to compete and win in today's economy. It acknowledges sales as a profession and shows how to think to engage selling with business strategy. It stresses the critical role of collaborative and engaging leadership and gives realistic and honest guidance to old and new Sales Leaders and managers.

Georgie Lack @ Georgie Lack Development Limited
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2009
A very engaging informative and useful book for all sales management practitoners operating in the real world, wishing easily digestable and strongly acadmically founded summary advice in Strategic Sales issues.
This book which can be read and enjoyed several times over, or section by section, is the best of its kind I have seen.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2009
This book has been, and continues to be, my essential companion for all things sales management. The summaries, diagrams and clear guidance offers everything for both a front to back read, but also great to come back and refer to sections time and time again.

Definately recommended for both the novice and experienced manager.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2008
I found the book very interesting and easy to read. I thought the real world examples very useful and sections targeted on IT particularly interesting.

I'm not in Sales Management but interact with them on a daily basis so it was interesting to see problems from their point of view.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)