Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2011
It's not a book that covers all aspects of WPF, and it that sense some might argue that it's not a reference book.
For me, as a begginning WPF Developer it's the perfect book!

It doesn't develop an application as one follows the chapter. The examples are instead kept short, just hightlighting any current subject the author wishes to explain.
It doesn't cover code behind very much, the focus is mainly on xaml markup.
Since the "code coverage" is not as high as in other books, some advanced topics are left out.
That actually works to this book's advantage in many areas.
As a beginners's WPF book, and a xaml reference, I highly recommend it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
I have purchased several WPF books, but this is the best written and easiest to understand I have read.

Even the most complext tasks are broken down into little pieces for easy digestion. Not too much technical information is given, but sufficient to know why you are doing a particular task.

If you are serious about WPF development, then this is the book for you.

Hope this helps,
Martin.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
When I started trying to use WPF it was hard going get straightforward information about how to use WPF. The videos on the Microsoft site are excellent but assume you already have some knowledge of WPF whilst the Microsoft technical articles are good but try to cover everything and can tend to be confusing. Rod Stephens' book is a good introduction to the subject. It gives simple examples and highlights the main points from the other detail. One section that was particularly useful is Chapter 4 Common Properties where he reviews the layout options and the effect they have on the result. Where I would have like more detail would have been in the use of SQL Server and binding. However, this is a minor issue and might be the subject of another book. There is an emphasis on XAML rather than code despite the book's title and might also be useful for programmers who use visual basic. The other misleading aspect of the title is its claim to be a 'Programmer's Reference'. There is a reference section at the back but it is selective rather than exhaustive.
In summary, this is a good book to get you started so that the reference material on the Microsoft web site starts to make sense and hang together. My recommendation is that this is a good, easy introduction to WPF but if you are going to be using WPF professional and heavily then Matthew MacDonald's 'Pro WPF in C# 2010' might be a better choice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
Should be 6 stars, but I only can give 5.
I have read other books on the subject. This is the first one that makes me understand what WPF is all about.
Without ever losing the total picture, you get gentle guidance through often hard to understand topics as XAML, containers etc.
Also liked the attitude of the writer: He sums up the advantages, but also the disadvantages!
Great book to have!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2010
Claims to be a programmers reference for WPF with .net 4 but does not include coverage of new WPF features like the Datagrid, Datetimepicker and Calendar.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
I am new to C# and WPF and I have to say this book is the best one I have come across. It has great examples which can be downloaded from the site. I have tried about 4 others on the subject of WPF and the layout and explanations by this author I find to be the most logical and closest to a real world scenarios.

I now look for books by this author first on IT subjects.

An example - there is a logical example of how to Bind a combo box and list box to a database table and include images in the combo box items. Nice and simple and easy to follow. There were not examples of this in any of the other books I purchased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2010
This is a great book on WPF for existing programmers. Concise and to the point, there are plenty of code examples to try out in order to get used to XAML. The author dives straight into what matters and the organisation of the book means you can go directly to chapters of interest. This allows you to get the most out of the book in the shortest amount of time. In this way it truly is a "reference" material and indispensable if you don't have time to trawl through tons of banter and drivel, as is the case with some other programming books out there.

If you're already a programmer, need a quick ramp up into WPF and don't need a complete "dummies guide", this is the book for you.

My only slight criticism is that it's not a completely comprehensive reference, some newer WPF features are not present.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2016
Highly recommended for those who want to develop with WPF.
Very satisfied.
Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2010
Antoher great book by Rod Stephens. Starts easy with lots of background information on what WPF is, progressing through lots of simple examples to more detailed complex examples. Good decision by Wrox to make the book full colour as well. Makes easier reading IMO. I own 2 Rod Stephens books and next time its time to purchase a new one I'll be looking to see if Rod has covered the topics I need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)