Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 July 2009
This book starts with a very gentle introduction to MVC and after one chapter you build your own application that even uses a VE Map. The first chapter is a really well written and contains an example application from Scott Gutherie. I had no prior experience with MVC, but the text was so easy to follow. This chapter is also freely available in PDF form at the author's website.

Then, when you read through other chapters you understand how everything works under the hood. It's loaded with best practices and handy tips for your next MVC project. I think after reading this book, one can get started with MVC for real world application in no time.

Having examples helps when one needs to grasp concepts. The sequence in which the chapters were laid out (examples then explanation) made it really easy to follow and _enjoy_ the text. If you are an MVC beginner, this book is definitely for you.

However, note that there are some typos in the book, so make sure that you have list of errata at hand.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2009
I bought this and the Sanderson book at the same time. This book is good but not as in-depth. The example-first approach (chapter 1) is laudable, but be advised that this is two-fifths of the book, screenshot-heavy and in black and white (I say this because chapter 1 is available freely and in colour as a PDF). The remaining chapters are wll written but aren't sufficiently 'meaty'.

The authors are all key players in MVC, but unfortunately this is not the sum of their considerable intellect.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2010
Although this is about to superseded by the ASP.NET MVC version 2 book (currently scheduled for July), it's still worth getting your hands on now. Aside from the fact that it's written by a dream team of authors (and an editor who has been able to blend together their efforts seamlessly) it's remarkable comprehensive for such a small book.

The first 164 pages is taken up with an example project which puts into context many of the concepts expanded upon in the succeeding chapters. There is also a fair amount of content, including analysis of the relative merits, given over to developers who are coming from an existing ASP.NET (i.e. WebForms) background, which should ease any transition or evaluation of business case for MVC. Time is also given to complementary methodologies and technologies (e.g. TDD) as well as some of the nuts and bolts of the MVC framework.

What I particularly liked is that it's the sort of book that truly speaks to the professional developer, discussing many of the challenges faced along with practical tips on best practices. The chapter on security is excellent - it spends as much time on the ideological basis for security as it does on implementation guidelines. This is a book that can be handed to any reasonable intelligent developer and put into practice quickly. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2009
Professional ASP.NET MVC 1.0 (Wrox Programmer to Programmer)
A great introduction to building asp.net mvc web sites. The nerd dinner example (Chapter 1) covers a lot of the most common database driven web site situations. With the subsequent chapters giving good coverage of the fine details of how this framework hangs together.
Overall a great book that will get you up and running with this new technology, quickly and easily. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
Excellent start to MVC book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2009
This book opens with one of the most brilliantly laid out chapters I have ever read in any technical manual. I created my first application, with confidence, just from reading this and there was little I needed to reference to be able to complete it. It's very well writte, flows nicely and is exceedingly easy to follow unlike so many other books of this sort I read. The rest of the book simply goes into more detail about the initial topics covered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2009
This is an absolute must to start to use MVC.

All levels of experience are touched, and beautifully explained.

But beware... you *will* become a MVC adict after reading this!

Martin.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2009
I was excited about this book - until I downloaded the extract. All the example code is in C#. Whilst converting that code to VB is no great deal, LINQ sections are, being new to that mechanism - incomprehensible as the LINQ implementation between VB and C# is quite different.

Disappointing.
99 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here