Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2004
there's not much you can say about dummies books apart from it 'does what it says on the tin'. If you want to know about AD in tyhe win2k environment from a practical point of view then this book is definately for you. It is aimed at the beginner and has pplenty of analogies for getting the point home.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2003
These books are primarily aimed at easily intimidated users, so being still easily intimidated after 10 years it IT, I found this book a great starting point for studying for the Active Directory MCP exam. Indeed, I found some things explained so well that some some concepts that I struggled thorough for other MCP exams were explained away with ease. A lot of the other more 'technical' study guides are largely a copy of the often vague or incomplete Windows help files, but this book rarely falls into this trap.
To emphasize though, you still need to go away and practice on a real system and learn more than is covered in the book to have a confident attempt at the exam, though the book does give good starting points.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
A good book to give you some idea of AD but felt that it needed to have a bit more inforrmation. If you looking to sit the 70-640 exam this book itself would not do the job. But will be good to provide a summary of AD for you. Something that you can skim through before a job interview or something.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2005
This book is a fair introduction to Active Directory but is based on a beta of windows 2000, so some of the information isn't correct.
There is no mention of the changes made in the release version of 2000 or of those made in 2003 Server.
The Visio trial is date locked, and the date expired on Jan 1st 2001.
Unlike other Dummies books this one doesn't go into enough detail to act as a reference after reading it.
There are much better books for Active Directory that act as an introduction and a reference.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
this should give me a chance to get my head around active directory and maybe the microsoft way of thinking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Helped me when I was doing my courseon active directory. . . . . . . . . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 October 2005
When Microsoft took an elegant simple schema from UNIX and redesigned it into a convoluted might mare called "Active Directory" it was time for this book. Turns out that "Active Directory" is not active or a directory; who would have guessed? Well this book starts you off with correcting concepts and even lets you know that with the new terminology that the definition of "domain" has been changed.
A lot of time Dummies books are too busy being cute; this one however is so packed with helpful information that it does not have time to be cute. This book takes you from ground zero to up and running while helping avoid common pit falls.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
This book may be useful as a reference source however it takes 5 chapters to get into anything useful to a beginner 'dummy'. I think it could be useful but not a beginner learning book really. I would have preferred a book set at a level where the basics are covered step by step with better colour explanations and A4 pages. I know this would have increased the cost but I would rather have learned a few really useful things that I understanmd than have patchy knowledge of basic through to more advanced concepts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
seems comprehensive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
It's a good product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse