Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2017
The best business book Ive read to date. And Ive read quite a few!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 1999
This book contains a concise analysis of what has made some of the most successful brands of recent time succeed. However, what makes this book special is that it lays out a series of exercises that promote innovative thinking. This process has already helped develop new ideas for one of my clients.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2001
This is the definitive work for the challenger brand. Every number two or three brand is tempted to copy the strategy of the number one, only with less resources. Adam Morgan makes it clear that this is the wrong approach and he gives a step by step process on the right way to attack number ones, leveraging the freedom and flexibility that challengers have. As you read each chapter, you find yourself nodding at the good sense and practicality of the alternative approach.
It is recommended reading at this business school
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2008
Adam Morgan sets out to show how smaller players can challenge the market leaders with creative marketing strategies. He succeeds brilliantly and in doing so feeds us some provocative ideas. His examples and case studies are highly instructive. The book will stimulate you to think about your marketing strategies and give you pointers for using innovation to power market share growth. A terrific read for anyone interested in business strategy, marketing or innovation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Author Adam Morgan went hunting for the second most successful brands. He sought commonalities among them to develop guidelines for those who are challenging the number one brands in their fields. In other words, if you are coming into the battle in the number two slot, here's your strategy for winning the marketing wars. Morgan is very adept at breaking things down into precise action steps. Witty and engaging, he offers a detailed analysis of the current consumer attitude about brands plus strategies you can use to market your second or third rank brand. We recommend this compilation of competitive ideas to those who want to boost their "Challenger" brands.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
This is in my humble opinion the best book in challenger behaviour written by the godfather of this revolutionary marketing thinking Adam Morgan.

Put very simple other books like appraised Kevin Robert's Lovemarks stress the importance of an emotional connection in B2C relations. Fair enough but this finding is the easy part. How to do it is much more tricky.

Eating the Big Fish gives you the blue print to accomplish this. Am on my fourth copy (all worn out with underlining and comments) and Adam Morgan's brilliant thinking has been the foundations of all my companies since I first read the first edition more than 10 years ago. I cannot express my die hard excitement strong enough.

Actually when I come to think about it - maybe I should instead encourage you to not read this book. Because then I potentially loose my competitive edge..:)

However, some sort of poetic justice and my deep appreciation for Eating The Big Fish encourage my to tell the truth: The best book and not by coincidence the foundation on which successful companies like Innocent and Method created their storytelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2004
I don't think it's exaggerating to call this a classic. The thinking on challenger brands is engaging, sharp and smart: it is also littered with the sort of examples that really help bring the studies to life and are of enormous practical worth. Indispensable stuff.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
I have significant business experience, but not any at all in consumer marketing.
This book is quite useful in pointing out via examples how a consumer brand should "think" in order to get noticed, to create traction in the market, in order to have a chance against potentially larger and much more established brands.
There is no simple recipe nor answer, but it is quite thought-provoking and in fact therefore pretty useful.

He has developed some sort of conceptual model which I personally don't need much nor find too useful - having been a management consultant with a famous consultancy in my distant past - but the practical examples and comments are good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Recommended to me by Gav the challenger - you know who you are.
As much as you can't become a challenger just by reading a book, this is a bloody good start and guide-rail for when you do default back to mundane mainstream, albeit temporarily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
This is one of the best books about branding ever written. What I love about this book is the engaging nature of the narrative, presented in a way that not only examines the wonderful brand-wide thought leadership strategy, pointing out a lot of small seemingly insignificant features of a brand that you'd noticed but not wholly understood, but also outlines a basic strategy to go about implementing this strategy making it immediately useful!

I cannot recommend this book enough. Even if you merely wonder about the ideas and thoughts behind company branding strategies, this will spark your interest further!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)