Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Learn more



on 8 August 2016
Using this book for uni and have read it numerous times now as different sections within the book help me at different points within my course and i know this will also be a keeper as ill need it throughout my career. You dont need to read this book from the start as the chapers within the book can assist you at any point.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2012
First, it is not "by David Hyde Pierce" as claimed by the review-request email! (He wrote the intro.) It's by the late, great Uta Hagen -- acting teacher extroadinaire. The book has inspired pretty much every decent American actor that walked the earth so let it inspire you. Find out what method acting is REALLY about (it's not about larding up for a role, staying in character for 6 months or running around the block to get sweaty... it's really about find aspects of yourself you can blow up and use). Her exercises are great -- watch her video on Youtube with students doing them, and her straight but comforting critiques. The exercises alone inspired me to write a 30-minute piece for a local festival, telling a full story with one actor in one location -- talking to himself and on the phone. Uta was the actor's Jesus. Every actor should read this to really get a handle on what acting is, how an actor should think. And every so often you will ask yourself, "What would Uta do?".
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2012
Just... inspiring. Hagen is revolutionary in terms of providing the actor with detailed, effective methods on how to bring truth to a character and the play. Her anecdotes are highlights of this gifted book and supplies an explanation to certain aspects that maybe perceived as confusing. However, the basis of her technique just frees me, personally, as an actor and I am still in development. It seems so obvious now but she teaches you that the best actors are finely tuned with their senses 27/4 and they observe their reactions, feelings and emotions and what the do in that state in order to bring life to the stage. She states also in her DVD "If I go to the theatre and I can see the acting - I already don't like it". It is such a shame that in 2004 we lost such a great actress and this book just preserves her spirit and enthusiasm for the craft of acting. There is no choice if you are an actor - you MUST get it. 1 million stars ;)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2009
This book is often talked about as THE book to read regarding acting. It is written from Uta Hagen's point of view as an Actress and so it is from the 'horses mouth' and is very readable. Our Tutor recommended it as the book for our Stanislavski class to get at City Lit (a large London college) and it has been very useful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2016
Arrived promptly... Great read and so useful for what I need right now! Thank you! X
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2009
I am currently on a Drama Foundation course and have found this work really useful. It sets out the rudiments of technique, such as sense memory recall, endowment, using the fourth wall and so forth, and even delves into role creation. A requisite in the actor's armoury.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2018
Wonderful book very helpful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2017
Bought as a gift. My friend highly delighted. Prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2017
Not bad but you should really use Stanislavsky, Chekhov and Meisner . Hagen too self indulgent but a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2018
Amazing book, so helpful and insightful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)