Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
47
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 20 October 2007
I am usually rather wary of books that offer to illustrate the camera manual and make it easier to understand. Sometimes they do no more than that and don't help to widen one's knowledge. This book, however, goes well beyond the manual. Following, as one would expect, a clear presentation of the technical features of the D80 and their efficient use, there are chapters dedicated to exposure, lenses, and working with light that help to give a better understanding of the many elements the photographer will have to juggle in order to achieve his aim. I found the section on "Photo Subjects", presenting the "rules" of good composition in different settings, helpful, though perhaps a bit too similar to what so many other publications offer in this regard. All in all, this book is a good investment if you are starting to use a D80 and learning to hone your photographic skills.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2008
This is a really useful book - I am very glad I got it. I found the manual that comes with the D80 to be extremely limited and hard to use, this takes everything much further and has some really useful explanations and tips. The D80 has so many functions and settings and intuition alone is not going to enable you make the most of all of them. As you've spent £500+ on the camera package, I think it's worth a few extra pounds to really know how to use the camera, even if you're experienced in photography. As it says on the label, this book explains how to use the D80's multitide of controls to achieve what you want while also being small enough to fit in your bag.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2008
Great book for anyone starting out with a D80! I'm usually the type of person who doesn't have the patience to sit down with an instruction manual or book. I'd rather just get my hands on the hardware and mess around until I've figured it all out. So David Busch's D80 digital field guide was a first.
Despite my phobia of instruction manuals and guides, I have really enjoyed studying all the useful information in this book. I would certainly recommend this book to any new D80 owner (or to a D80 owner who wants to polish up on their photography skills). It not only gets into the nitty-gritty of the D80 but also provides a great introduction to photogrpahy in general.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
This book was very expensive However it was well worth the money. I've used it soo many times. Fan-daby-tastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2008
I have bought a number of camera manuals over the years from Lantern guides to Hove foto books, and they have all really done little more than re-hash the camera manual. The Digital Field guide starts with the manual and simplifies it and pulls out lots of useful customisation settings on the D80. It very quickly helps you around all the key featrures of the camera, then digs deeper into some key areas of operation. It is clearly and logiclly written and with lots of clean illustrations. The latter half is made up of a lot of general photography tips and an experienced photographer may skip a lot of this section, although I have to put my hand up and admit it refreshed me on a couple of key elements around flash. If you have bought a D80 and have spent hours poring over the manual this will be a welcome aid to getting the most out of what is a very capable camera, I can highly recommend it.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2010
My initial impression on opening this book was that there was little in it that I didn't already know, having had a D80 for over two years. But on delving into it I soon realised I was wrong, there being a good deal in it that I didn't know, or had overlooked or imperfectly understood. Doubtless all the info is in the supplied Nikon manual, but its cryptic style and arcane layout do not make it user-friendly. David Busch's book, on the other hand, is written in a cogent and lucid fashion, with a plethora of illustrations and examples. I learnt a lot from it and warmly recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2010
Nikon D80 Digital Field Guide

Written with a god portion of humor, reading this field guide is a pleasure. It gives you a clear impression of the camera's functions and possibilities which is superior to the factory manual's confusing references back and forth. In addition it will give the beginners in photography an insight in the photographic terms like apertures, ISO, exposure etc. Even relatively experienced amateur photogaphers will gain a lot of valuable information reading this book. Great value for money!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2009
This is a great book; in colour and printed to a good standard. The content is perfectly pitched. It explains in detail all the myriad of functions that the D80 offers and more importantly why and when you should use them. The second half of the book is a more generic set of photographic tips for a number of photographic scenarios (e.g. events, sport, wildlife, fireworks etc) that could apply to using any camera, but mention some D80 features that might be of particular benefit in each situation. The book is definitely aimed at the user and is not a deeply technical discussion on optoelectronics.

It is clearly the intention of the authors that this book should be a true field guide as it will easily fit in most larger camera bags as a quick reference. However I personally am content to read this well written book at home and absorb its wise words at my leisure, rather than rifle through it when trying to take a difficult shot on location.

In short this book really delivers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2007
excellent publication used in conjunction with manual,marred slightly by lack of hyphens in lens range ie 1870 instead of 18-70but in my opinion a better buy than the magic lantern d80 guide
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2009
This book follows in the tradition of the Digital Field Guides in being an easy, informative read well worth the money. I previously purchased the D40 Guide and this is just as good for someone who wants to find their way around a new camera quickly and in an entertaining way. It is far more than merely an expanded camera manual, containing as it does a lot of practical shooting tips for all sorts of situations the photographer may want to shoot and some good practical advice on lens choices and other equipment to supplement the photographer's arsenal of gear. In short this book is well worthy of a five star recommendation. If you buy it you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)