Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 29 July 2008
OK, I'm just starting out with Linux, although I have used Mac and Windows for many years. Ubuntu was my choice as it is so well supported and appears to be the least painful way of getting into Linux.

The book itself has a very good 'building block' approach to getting up and running quickly, then takes you through all manner of configuration options. Throughout, it is well laid out and task based, i.e. 'Mounting File Systems with the mount Command', so you can quickly find out how to do a specific task. It also contains troubleshooting sections and a useful guide for vi and other editors. The Index is very thorough, as is the Table of Contents, so finding what you are looking for is dead easy. I had one Ubuntu Server and a number of desktops up and running in under a day, thanks to this book, notwithstanding the fact that the server is command only (NO GUI!) and I wanted to install VMware Server!

In conclusion, I'd say it is one of the most comprehensive Zero to Hero guides out there on Ubuntu. It's name doesn't do it justice, it is much more than just a 'Toolbox', the words Quickstart and Compendium might do better, I would think.

Well done to the authors, it nailed all of my Ubuntu questions in one neat bundle!
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2010
This book tries it's best to cram a lot of material into a fairly short number of pages. It teaches the user the basics of the command line and then starts with a variety of very powerful tools and useful tricks. This book renders a lot of Graphical User Interface (GUI) packages obselete and can make these tasks quicker. The book helps the user develop their command line skills from early stages of browsing through files to more complicated specialist commands that a lot of users may simply never need.

So why only 3 stars? The book attempts to cram a lot into 360 pages, however the readability and user friendliness of the book does suffer, a few more examples of code and tasks would be useful.

This book finds itself stuck between two areas, it is too large for a pocket guide but at the same time I feel that too many useful commands and examples are missing to make this a great reference guide. I have been using this for over a year now so I am not basing this on a couple of weeks so I feel suitable research has been carried out. For a thorough Command Line reference then I would recommend the Linux Command Line and Shell Scripting Bible which is by far and away the best Command Line guide available.

Ideal for the casual user that wishes to give the Command Line a go, but for those who want to take their command line skills even further then I would recommend to look elsewhere.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2016
I am new to Linux, using Linux Lite (an Ubuntu-based distro) for most of my day-to-day tasks. To date, I have already bought 3 books from Amazon, to help me with Linux's command-line as I don't have a programming background in any shape or form, and am self-taught over the years when it comes to anything to do with computers. This book (the 4th) stands head and shoulders above the others I bought as it is an excellent reference book. It doesn't bog you down with theory and just gives you the commands you need to get going without fuss...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2014
The title's completely accurate and just what I needed to manage a rejuvenated, 9 year old AMD64 PC and 2 year old netbook both of which were crippled with Windows. As other's have said this is not a book to help you learn Linux - O'Rielly books have some great material if that's what you need. If, as I did, you need to find out how to use certain features of Linux then it's excellent as the book is divided into subject areas you may want concentrate on so there's a chapter on installing the operating system and adding software; how to use the shell ; how to work with files and how to manipulate text; how to manage the system and the network as well as a real insight on managing security. It has those all-important examples of how to use the commands in fundamental ways that the Man Pages would benefit from. Whilst the book is headed 'Ubuntu Linux Toolbox' it's absolutely fine for my 64-bit Linux Mint (a Debian / Ubuntu core distro) and of course the excellent 32-bit Lubuntu that runs like the wind on an Acer Aspire One netbook with just a single gig of RAM. When you're stuck on the command line, dip into the toolbox - all the tools are there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2009
As one would expect with any Linux textbook, this one is dense. There is lots of information, not presented in the most readable manner, however the good indexing and contents makes it pretty easy to find what you want.

With the subsequent updates of Ubuntu it is becoming less usual for a normal user to carry out tasks from this manual, however some, such as regular expressions, deserve to be learnt by everyone. In addition learning the different ways there are to go about everyday tasks, graphically and via the terminal, give the user a better understanding of what goes on "behind the scenes".

People argue that "you can get it all from the internet". Personally I would argue that it is easier to read things on paper, and nicer to have something there to dip into rather than switching back and forth between browser and command line continually. Also books, like this one, are written to sell, not just as a hobby, they are generally better written and more complete than online tutorials.

All in all I would recommend this book for people not scared to try the command line and those who want to learn a few more intriguing things that Linux can do. However if you are content with using Ubuntu's easy-to-operate Graphical User Interface, then steer clear!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2012
This is exactly what I was looking for. A quick, accessible 'recipe' book for practical uses of the Linux shell without delving too deep into the particular mechanics. Being a power user in Windows for many years, I recently started as a dev in a new job with Linux centered users. I've browsed it on a daily basis, and it has proven invaluable on my transition.

Don't expect this book to guide you gently if you're a beginner - it's definitely oriented to solve particular tasks that are common to advanced users. I'm giving it four stars because I believe a newer edition is due.

My only regret? I wish had gotten into Linux years before!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2011
Don't waste time and money on Linux books that explain too much or don't explain enough. Linux is more about action than theory and this book really invites to action.

Divided in several chapters each addressing one major usage area of Linux, explanations are simple enough to be used right away, they stick quickly to your mind and they're good enough to work on other distributions, too.

One drawback of the book (if there is any) is that it doesn't explain too much about joining an Ubuntu Linux machine to a Windows domain. This limits a little its usefulness in a corporate environment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2018
waste of money - content not as powerful as expectected from description and other reviews
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2013
Lot's of computer books are all guff and hot air. Lots of screen shots showing how to do what's obvious and a strange silence on the real issues that show they aren't real experts but just spinning money out of puff.
This is different.
It gives you what you need the detailed syntax of command lines so you can get the job done.
Recommended, but not for the beginner it won't hold your hand.
But it will save you time and get the job done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2011
Many existing books skirt round the subject of using the command line and give the opinion that it is is beyond the average reader new to Ubuntu/Linux. Once the principles are grasped and a few steps taken after reading this one, it is not that bad! While "Linux in a Nutshell" is a very detailed and comprehensive document, this volume bridges the gap between the basic literature and and the expert titles very neatly. Linux, without the dreaded blue screens of death found in some other OSs, is a much more comfortable environment when you discover the way out of the occasional glitch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)