Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


on 17 July 2017
I've read half so far, and absolutely love it. This book really is an essential guide, and has demonstrated how incredibly creative writing ads can be. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Great book recommend it to anyone looking to write better sales copy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 December 2016
Some copywriters work for clients and charge a fixed fee. Others charge a fee and ask for a percentage of the revenue generated on top so they gain financially if the item sells well. Neither of these groups of writers lose out if the copy flops all together.

Some copywriters, like Joe Sugarman, made their reputations by going out and finding interesting products to sell, writing their own copy and buying advertising space. These copywriters had the opportunity to win big but also to lose. The lessons they learn can be brutal but they strike home quickly.

This is a great book. It is based around an expensive course ($2,000 in 1977) that Sugarman gave to the people who wanted to understand how he did what he did to make a fortune and develop a cult following for JS&A space age products. Once he even sold an aeroplane from a magazine advertisement when he decided to flog off the third corporate jet that he used least often.

At its core is copywriting for display advertisements in newspapers, magazines and catalogues. A headline, sub-heading, photograph, copy and the JS&A symbol people learnt to look for. Towards the end of the book, he explains how the ideas can be transferred to other types of marketing including the Internet.

It's strange to think of a business book as charming but this one is packed with Sugarman's panache. The book is based around his 15 axioms, 3 emotion principles, 10 graphic elements, 23 copy elements and 31 psychological triggers. 30 of those triggers are covered well here but are explored more extensively in Triggers: 30 Sales Tools You Can Use to Control the Mind of Your Prospect to Motivate, Influence, and Persuade. These factors are all neatly summarised at the back of the book when you want a quick reminder.

What makes this book even better is that Sugarman picks some advertisements written by other people and analyses them with you, explaining exactly what the copywriter is doing and why. He also includes the full text of some of his own advertisements including that plane he sold.

I read a lot of business books but this is one of the few that I have as a physical book and as a Kindle book. That way, I can carry it around with me. It really is that good. Note to self, re-read the best of the best more often.

About my book reviews - My goal is to help you to find the best business advice. I aim to be a tough reviewer because the main cost of a book is not the money to buy it but the time needed to read it and absorb the key messages. 5 stars means that I think that overall it has some vital messages in it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
I'm brand new to copywriting so I took an online copywriting course to start getting the basics down. After reading this book, it now looks like my online course was pretty much influenced by this book (it's ok I got the course on a very cheap sale :) I can only speak as someone very new to copywriting but I've found this book to be very educational, very informative and very helpful. If you Google Joe Sugarman you will know he is regarded as one of the best copywriters out there and for me this book definitely reinforces that point. It's written in a very down to earth manner and some of his tips were actually very funny! Overall I learned a lot, I enjoyed the read and I thought that Mr Sugarman comes over as a pretty decent guy. This e book was expensive but to be honest I think it's worth it. It's one book I will be returning to a lot. P.S. this review was written quickly so I've not really proof read it LOL!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 February 2008
Seldom does a how-to book so thoroughly accomplish its goal. Read this text and you'll learn how to compose great copy. Information in: skill out. Copywriter extraordinaire Joseph Sugarman explains what it takes to write copy that sells as he covers the basic elements of a print ad. He then delves into the writing process by revealing his methods, such as letting your thoughts flow unhindered onto the paper and giving your ideas time to incubate. Then he switches his focus to explaining which emotions motivate people to make purchases and how to incorporate these "psychological triggers" into your advertising. Although Sugarman confesses up front that his lessons focus primarily on print mail-order advertising, he provides a chapter on copywriting for various media. However, it is obvious that his strength lies in mail order. The emphasis on print ads notwithstanding, getAbstract urges anyone who wants to communicate effectively to pick up this thorough, lively copywriting guide.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Joe Sugarman is an expert in direct mail, all the advice given in this book has been tried and tested in the field. For anyone who needs a boost in sales this is well worth the very cheap purchase price for the information contained within. I would also recommend Jay Abraham.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2008
This is based on a seminar that Joe Sugarman used to charge people @ $5,000 to attend.All the information is presented in an easy to read, entertaining style.Nothing is held back, and he also breaks ads down to show you how to craft your own copywriting efforts.Anyone who needs to communicate effectively (everyone?) should read this classic.At this price it's a steal.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
Must have book. The way he writes is so seductive you can't help but read. He sucks you in and sets you on a slippery slide and before you know it you've read the whole chapter. Excellent writer. Even if you generally can't be bothered to read, this book changes everything as I can almost gaurantee you will read the whole book. Love the writer, love the knowledge he gives away in his book and love his stories. Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2016
Sugarman is my nick name in my former work that resembles my real name as Zach (Zach is the greek name of sugar btw ).It is a nice  coexistence to see this as  surname. So my co surnamed author has writen a book of behalf the Adweek brand.
Enough about  our names and now back on the book. The book is quite huge in length and design , about 350 pages of standard wide book size . The language is very easy and quite entertaining suitable to first grade schoolers as.his copies . A small cartoon follows the firstpage of each chapter and the ideas that follow since every chapter unfolds are quite simpe and easy to  follow .
His ideas  and tips are quite inspiring. Reading it made me think once again about my zero sales book .
17 process axioms are analyzed , 31 behavioral triggers & methodology . Several case studies including two unnsuccesful are also shown and analyzed and on the end there is a chapter on how to copy write for other media
4/5 read in 3 nights (5 for perfect )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
Joe Sugarman is one of the copywriting greats and it shows in this gem.

If you need to know how to write great advertising for your own business or as part of your job then this could be the place to start. Joe takes you through the world of advertising copy and holds your hand every step of the way.

The book is split into 3 main sections (with a small fourth towards the back). The first section takes you through the process of how to write great advertising copy. The second section explains the mechanics of how to put the words together to create superb sales letters.

The third section gives some great examples of the craft, and discusses what it is about them that works.

If you had to hire Joe Sugarman to write your copy then it would cost you infinitely more than this book. So, do the next best thing, and buy the book!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)