Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
67
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2010
one can have fun reading this book while gaining a perspective how the things in daily life should be written a manual and if one is comprehensive enough they could reflect these easy-to-use suggestions on to their designs. it is the actual basics for any design, in my opinion: if it is hard to use then it wont be a common object to be used and understood... think of this as the universal signs like red light or the play sign.
in contrast with the above mentioned it gets sometimes boring because of a lot of memoirs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
I am a bit surprised that this has so good reviews. I read it and found it fairly unenjoyable, not very insightful and often I thought "anybody could have written this."

That said, the examples are quite good reading and the man obviously does know his stuff, even if he doesn't seem to get it into his book. More detailed accounts of the accidents he studied would be interesting.

I just wish the book gave more solutions. It doesn't take a lot to criticise digital watches, but it is a lot harder coming up with a good design.

It is rather out of date, but I don't think that would've been a problem in general.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2000
Interesting explanation of design issues, mainly looking at 'everyday things' but also covering some examples of industrial settings and the issue of human faliability. Adequate examples, mainly UK and US based.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2010
Actually, the basic principles outlined in this book can be applied to the design of software systems as well. The main message of the book could be summarized in one word: KISS, i.e. Keep It Simple, Stupid!
Highly recommended for engineers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
Very interesting reading. Easy to follow it will change your approach toward everyday object design and use. I found the part on error slightly too long and potentially a little bit redundant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
really good and funny book about designs and what we have to think about when we design. It talks about how design can be fun and how some things that are designed are actually funny. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Great and really useful book. Easy to read, real life examples. Makes you think.
Funny thing is after reading you start to see objects in your life from different prespective
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
If more people read this book, and used the things it teaches, the world would be a better and simpler place.

One of the most eyeopening books I have ever read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
This is a good explanation of design from an early Apple-affiliated guy, and there are some interesting thoughts in it. However, I found it rather drily written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
'The Design of Everyday Things' is a must have book, that changes how you percept the world around you.

It's easy enough to read and very rewarding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)