Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
19
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2013
AN excellent book from Mr Thomas Sowell.

Excellent writer, very prolific, well documented and with an excellent sense of pointing out the truth.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
Brilliant. Clearly stating how economics actually works rather than how many people wished it worked. Thomas Sowell is a great popular writer.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2009
It explains in simple examples how alternative uses of already scarce resources affect the allocation of these resources(and vice versa) and affect prices of products and services(and the other way round)and how these relationships can be applied to explaining almost any related economic developments.
It also explains in simple terms how a relatively uncontrolled market will regulate itself price wise to a certain extent,and this might go unnoticed to an uninformed regular consumer like me. Thomas Sowell is a hero.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2016
The work of a master, both one of the best economists around, and a great professor, who knows how to explain economy to all kinds of readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Worried it would be too high-brow but it is clear simple, concise, and well informed. So pleased I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
this is an unbelievably biased and simplistic right wing version of economics with very selective use of information and statistics. It was like watching a traffic accident and I had to get to the end though I was annoyed the whole time and i consider my political views to be right wing. Not only was it biased it was overly long and slow and I never want to hear the word "moreover" again for a long time!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
This book is one of the most disingenuous and tendentious books I have read in some time. Thomas Sowell is clearly a man with an axe to grind - and boy can he grind. In the crazy world of Thomas Sowell the real world behaves just like the text book world of general equilibrium theory. In this world prices serve only to clear markets (there is no information content); competition is 'perfect', and insofar as monopoly or oligopoly does exist - you guessed it - it's the Government's fault and can best be eliminated by - you guessed it again - the market. In the crazy world of Tommy everyone is rational (we're not - have you heard of behavioural economics Thomas?); everyone has perfect information (we don't, in fact that is the very reason we have brands); and, above all, there are no economic rents - in fact economic rent isn't even mentioned in the index presumably because all rents get competed away in Tommy's perfect market place. Of course, the great thing about economic rent is that it can be appropriated by workers, by Governments - or even by capitalists for that matter - without changing the economic incentives on anyone. Did you get that Tommy? This means that taxation can be re-distributive and that unions can bargain for higher pay, and that capitalists can earn super normal profits without affecting the efficiency of the economy as a whole. So the distribution of income turns out to be a political question as well as an economic question after all. There are many other deliberate distortions in this book too numerous to mention. Don't read it, above all don't buy it - otherwise I fear you will be guilty, like me, of the misallocation of scare resources for which there are alternative uses. Indeed, given that I think the calorific value of this book is higher than the education value, you know what the cast iron laws of economics require me to do with it...
55 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
I purchased the digital copy of this book to read on my Kindle. It loads onto my PC OK and the cover loads onto the Kindle but then comes up as "Invalid item this item is protected with DRM and cannot be read on your Kindle."

Don't buy the kindle version, it won't download to a Kindle.

Have not read the book, since I can only read it on my desktop PC.

I can't give it zero stars on the Amazon system, so its rated as one star = zero (avoid).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Everyone needs to know at least as much about economics as this excellent, concise book contains. So much political idiocy would be avoided!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)