Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2013
If you're reading this book because you have to, then hard luck, otherwise give it a miss. It bored the living daylights out of me. It's like one of those people that jabber on without getting to the point. It just goes on and on until it finally bores you numb. The only crumb of excitement was trying to find out what 's****en' meant. I gave up in the end. Buy a shortened or more concise version and give yourself a break.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
I am a student who mainly used The Riverside Chaucer for my module. However, I wanted a quick and easy edition for my Kindle and this fitted the bill. I like that you had the option for the modern translation or could compare the original with the modern. However, the original version isn't the same used in many of the editions and so you may need to consider that before buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Very easy for children to understand. Sometimes these works are too tied to the original text and that just isn't suitable for young ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2016
Saw an exhibition of his work and wanted to own a book with him as illustrator.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
What can you say? It's a classic however the construction of this edition is a bit weird. You get a splash of English translation and then into to original old English text. By the time you have flicked through that you've forgotten the main plot of the storyline. The book is fine but this edition is NOT recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Written in modern English and easy to follow.The only downside: the print is rather small.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
The text of the tales, well presented. Navigation between sections not too difficult. There are helpful glosses for the meanings of some of the more difficult words and phrases; the major flaw is that they appear undifferentiated at the end of the line, so one can't see where the text of each line ends and the gloss begins. Otherwise I would have given it 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
Really enjoying this book. Have compared parts of the text to the original and its brilliantly done, keeping both the sense and the style but in language you don't have to stumble over, so it is more like the experience of reading the Canterbury Tales would have been at the time. Its surprisingly fast paced compared to what I was expecting and I haven't been able to put it down. Now I know what all the fuss is about!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
This was great for my English Lit course, and it was a decent translation.t might not be the same as others-then again, that said there are quite a few translations- but it was in good condition, was easily understood and was great for reading annotation and for getting used to the Tales before a translated version. I would definitely recommend this seller and the product!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
Shabby quality really - glued not stitched pages, thick paper, light weight. A money spinner for Penguin. Everyman much better quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse