Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 January 2010
Merit's recovering from the murders that almost killed her. She's also been turned into a vampire and must obey the man she loves to hate.

In order to perform her job to the best of her ability, she finally moves into the Cadogan house. She's having a hard time adjusting to and mingling with the other vampires due to her status and the rumors floating around.

Ethan doesn't give her much time to adjust before asking her to return to the life she left behind. When an anonymous warning arrives with hints of a secret being uncovered, Ethan wants to find out who is responsible. All signs point to a reporter of a prominent family.

Merit's forced to enter society again with Ethan at her side. Soon, she's going head-to-head with her father and creating tension within her romantic relationship. But Merit has bigger problems than romance; there's another traitor in the house. She must uncover the mole and watch her back - because someone's out for revenge and it's getting ugly.

FRIDAY NIGHT BITES is the second book in this new crossover series (A/YA) that hits upon romance, snarky dialogue, danger, revenge, friendship, elite society, and struggling to find your place in the world. It's an excellent series that left me waiting for the next installment. I love both the titles and the covers for the CHICAGOLAND VAMPIRES books!

Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
This book picks up where the last one ended, almost immediately back into the thick of things. I like Merrit and Mallory, I love their interactions and the story flowed well. Ethan running hot and cold for no real discernible reason is frustrating and the constant referring to men as boys is a little grating. That said it read well enough and it made me want to read more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
3.5 Stars in my Sky!

Friday Night Bites is the second book in the Chicagoland Vampires series, and picks up right where Some Girls Bite left off. Merit is still not completely comfortable with her new vamp status or her role as Sentinel.

Merit moves into Cadogan house in this book, which leads to many more awkward and hilarious situations with her sire and Cadogan Master, Ethan. It was good to gain some more insights into Ethan's past, even though he is still very much a mystery.

Merit is quasi dating the Navarre Master Morgan, but is massively conflicted by her strange relationship with egotistical Ethan (who I still wanted to hit at times). I kinda like her with Morgan, but Ethan is obviously supposed to be the big draw.

Merit's strange introduction into Cadogan means that she's somewhat isolated from the other new vamps and also faces a shift in her relationship with bestie, Mallory. I like Merit's blossoming friendships with Lindsey and Jeff.

Merit is forced to visit her parents and obnoxious family-friends in this book - god they're horrible! I felt really sorry for her when she's faced with accusations from her former boyfriend Nick.

In the first book I felt that Merit really needed to come to turns with her new life and to a large extent in Friday Night Bites this is exactly what she is forced to do. Her human and vampire side have not so far managed to join together fully (cue a blood scene with a certain controlling Master vampire).

A good read, but not quite as good as the first. I'm hoping in the next book Merit finally gets her vamp on!

My fav non-spoilery quotes:
*Vampires' eyes silvered when they experienced strong emotions - hunger, anger, or, in my case, proximity to the blond cupcake that was Ethan Sullivan.
*"I'd like to speak to someone about ordering some Navarre porn, please. Maybe a six-foot-tall poster of that gorgeous Master vampire, the one with the dreamy eyes?"
*"The acronym for the Order of sorcerers is 'U-Ass'?"
*"She'll do what she can to ensure that, as they say, 'There ain't no party like a Cadogan party.'"

[...] - Also reviewed on my Blog Zili in the Sky!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
a good story, kept me interested but i like a book with romance in it,this doesn't have much,there are other books in this series but not sure if i want to carry on reading like i said it's a very good story but i like the men to be protective and loving of which this has very little.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2011
I really enjoyed this book! merits character is fun, witty and just a little bit stubborn! she has been a vampire for around 2 months and is moving into Cadogan house! merit has some family issues and avoids her father at all costs, but as her new job as Sentinel for Cadogan house she is forced (by Ethan) back into the family fold. I love Mallory and merits relationship, and cant wait to see what happens when Mallory learns more about her magic! Catcher and Mallory are just plain fun to read about. Ethan im still on the fence about he comes across as immature and I wish he would just let his guard down properly with merit! cant wait to get started with the next instalment TWICE BITTEN!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2010
The book arrived yesterday & I started reading it yesterday evening. I just couldn't stop, (well, I had to in the end, had to get some sleep, as in work today). Excellent! Can't wait for the next book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2010
I am really enjoying this series. As an avid reader of fantasy/urban fantasy, I like that this doesn't take itself too seriously but has a good enough story that you want to keep reading and buy the next book. If I had to criticise, I find some of the dialogue a bit too contrived (in that it tries to hard to be 'cool') but that may be because I am way outside the YA category and so it's an age thing. Also, for an old, powerful vamp, Ethan is more than a bit immature and indecisive. Am secretly hoping Merit will find someone a bit more grown up and deserving..... and will keep reading in order to find out!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
Merit is beginning to adjust to life as a vampire and is moving into Cadogan House with it's ever present paparazzi. Merit has barely unpacked when her Master Ethan reveals that an old family friend of hers is sniffing around vampire society and threatening to publish a story about the Raves - mass feeding parties where vampires drink themselves silly. Ethan is convinced that Merit's family is their best starting point so Merit is forced back into the society she once ran from, and finds that balancing human/vampire relations is almost as hard as balancing her love life.

I really enjoyed Some Girls Bite so I was looking forward to reading this and I wasn't disappointed. This book is less about Merit's personal journey and takes place more in the world at large. What begins as a simple nosey reporter soon develops into a threat against Cadogan House and Merit really steps up into her role as Sentinel. More is revealed about vampire society, and we also get to learn more about shifters and sorcerors. Again the author avoids info-dumping, and Merit's world is widened and deepened in this book.

As Merit has moved into Cadogan House in this book, there is more of a focus on her vampire friends and so Mallory features far less. Mallory spends a chunk of the book away perfecting her sorcery skills, and I did miss the Merit/Mallory interaction. However Merit and Mallory did have some page time together and I think the way their changing friendship was handled was brilliant.

The lingering threat against Cadogan House is well developed and cleverly handled. There are a few twists that I didn't see coming, and the author managed to create more questions as Merit solved the mystery. Merit also discovered she has several unique qualities not seen in other vampires, and I can't wait to see where the author takes this.

All in all this was a great read, and I'm looking forward to reading Twice Bitten (out now) and Hard Bitten (out May 2011).

Plot: 10/10
Characters: 10/10
Ending: 10/10
Enjoyment: 10/10
Cover: 7/10

Overall: 47/50
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
** Book one in the series is Friday Nights Bites **

A mysterious source warns Ethan that a national newspaper is preparing a three-part investigation on underground raves - and by raves you need to think mass feedings on humans, not parties. All house vampires are banned from participating in raves, but who knows who could be involved? As this is a PR nightmare waiting to happen, Ethan needs to shut the raves down.

The reporter working on the story is apparently Jamie Breckenridge - the younger brother of Merit's life-long friend and ex boyfriend Nicholas. So now Ethan [and the head of the GP] wants Merit to re-connect with her family and old friends in order to kill two birds with one stone; They hope to establish contacts amongst the powerful and the uber-wealthy, as well as for Merit to try and get close to Jamie to try to dissuade him from publishing his story. Merit knows Ethan can just order her to do this if she refuses to co-operate, so she has no real choice in the matter. So it's time for our vampiric socialite to make her return to society.

In case that isn't enough for Merit to be dealing with, she moves into Cadogan House to give Mallory and Catcher some space in their new hot-and-heavy relationship and to enable her to respond to any on-the-job emergencies quickly; A move which puts her amongst the other live-in house vampires, who she doesn't fit in with and who don't trust her. To top everything of Merit also suspects that her vampire is 'broken'; Her vampiric side feels separate from the rest of her and it's effecting her training, as she's constantly forcing her blood-thirsty side back down inside her.

The main reason for me loving FRIDAY NIGHT BITES is due to the politics between vampires and humans coming into play; Merit complains about being a pawn in both sides games, but I enjoyed it immensely. Added to this is the fact that the subject of raves and Cadogan House's stance on blood drinking is also brought up [Ethan allows it]. Imagine; A book about vampires where the vampires actually do act like vampires, instead of sparkly porn material for teenage girls.

The relationships between the characters are also more fleshed out; Merit has now moved into Cadogan House, a move that has resulted removed her from her human life and is a catalyst for a argument between her and her best friend [and now ex-roommate] Mallory. Even though this is book is written in a first-person narrative, author Chloe Neill still manages to put other characters feelings and points of view across. Mallory seems more real in this book and less of a genre cliche as a result; She is struggling to come to terms with her own world-shaking revelation and doesn't have the support system that Merit has had. She does have her boyfriend Catcher to lean on, but he is also Merit's trainer, Ethan's friend and works in the Ombud's office; I'm glad that he's going to be a prominent character as he's witty and it's hinted that he has plenty of interesting tales in his past to come.

The main issue that I had with the first book doesn't bother me as much this time around - I'm talking about the romantic subplot. I won't go into too much detail, so will just say that while nothing is resolved, Merit is more self-aware of both her feeling and other peoples, so I've got more patience on that front.

I also love that we briefly meet Merit's mother and older sister, as well as her father; We also hear people talk about her brother to, although we don't actually see him. So whilst we still don't learn about why Merit and her father don't get along, meeting other family members stop her family issues from feeling like a totally empty subplot and instead I'm interested in learning more about Merit's past.

** Book three in the Chicagoland Vampires is Twice Bitten. Book four will be Hard Bitten [released in May] and book five is titled Drink Deep [released in November] **
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2011
After reading quite a lot of YA novels recently, I fancied a nice, funny, action packed adult urban fantasy, yet I didn't fancy trying something new. I wanted a story I knew, characters I loved, something I knew would feinitely grab me straight away, without having to learn anything knew world building wise. I absolutely loved Some Girls Bite, the first in the Chicagoland Vampires series, and as Friday Night Bites was sitting on my bookcase, I picked it up. And now wish I had read it much sooner!

Friday Night Bites has the same humour and sexual chemistry as in the first book, so there were many laughs and many hot moments. There isn't a huge amount of action in this book, but the story more than makes up for it. Unfortunately, it's so tightly wound around other things I can't tell you about, I can't really talk about it. But it's clever! And it keeps you guessing, on the edge of your seat.

The characters are still as good as they once were! I love Merit, she's so strong and so snarky, yet still trying to find her way. The struggles with the "will they? won't they?" love triangle involving Ethan and Morgan is still steaming, but emotional too. Catcher and Mallory are just so great together for a reader; all over each other one minute, at each other's throats the next. I just love them all!

The ending of this book, how the story is resolved is just wow! Seriously, it was scary - not in the horror sense, but in the "what on earth is going to happen to these characters?" sense. You're sitting on the edge of seat, and you don't see the ending coming! It's just so... oh, it's juicy! And I need to read the next book, Twice Bitten, now! I loved this book, and highly recommend this series to everyone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse