Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2014
A great sequel to one of my favourite Vance novels. This episode is more concerned with plot and as such is less funny than Araminta Station, which in typical Vancian fashion pokes fun at the social mores of an imagined society and in doing so illuminates the human condition. Of particular interest here is one of Vance's rare female protagonists. While it is tempting to view his approach to gender relations as old fashioned, I think that he shows a real insight into the female condition. At every turn, the pretty Wayness Tamm is threatened by sexual advances and assaults, which she regards as par for the course, and avoids with great aplomb. Depressing, really. I can't help but agree that if ever mankind does scramble off this orb and populates space, the same problems that beset society today will still do so in thousands of years time.

This is a four-star Vance novel, but deserves five stars in comparison with everyone else.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
The second book in the Cadwal Chronicles trilogy. For the first time the narrative moves from Glawen Clattuc, the main protagonist and classic Jack Vance "Everyman" character, to his inamorata, Wayness Tamm, as she travels off-world to Earth in search of Conservancy documents.

With a more swiftly-moving plot than the first novel, "Ecce and Old Earth" captures the growing urgency of the situation on Cadwal, and politics begins to be a more important aspect in Glawen Clattuc's young and relatively innocent life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
Although I liked this book very much I did not find it anywhere near as gripping as Araminta Station, the previous book in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2003
The first book in this series (Araminta Station) I thought was excellent (*****) but thought this was a very weak follow-up. In the first book the main character was firmly established only for the sequel to be mainly about his ladylove. As a consequence, in my mind, the action seemed to be toned down somewhat and the way that the mystery that she was investigating was solved seemed to be a case of "quick, finish it. The deadline is approaching fast".
Admittedly the third book is only slightly better and about half as long. All in all, the series deteriorated rapidly after book one. Disappointing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
classic sci-fi at it's best.
Jack Vance is not to everyone’s taste, But i find them enjoyable and light reading.
I read all three of the series years ago and still have the original hardbacks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
This is the book between "Araminta Station" & "Throy ", a saga of space travel, family feuds and the fate of a planet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
Excellent, Jack Vance is a great writer and his work is full of imagination and wry humor..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
i chose this book as it is one of a series and i had read the first volume and enjoyed it.
i chose this seller as they offered the best value for money.
the book arrived in excellent time from ordering. it was well wrapped to prevent postal damage and was just as described in advertisement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
All Jack Vance is a good read and the quality of this book at such a low price was amamzing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here