Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
7
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2003
As my title says this is one of the best books I have ever read.
Gen. Hackett and his team create a very plausible scenario for a war between NATO and the Warsaw Pact in the ealy 1980s.
While we are shown the grand strategy and background to the conflict, we are also put in the place of those in the front line, which is something I especialy liked.
While the conflict in Germany is central to the story, the peripheral conflicts in places like the Middle East and Africa are not neglected.
The documentary style (as if it was written just after the war) and the history book style references to extracts taken from other accounts of the war make this a very realistic read.
Anybody interested in alternative history/future history books should get a copy of this book. Moreover it is best enjoyed along with the sequel The Untold Story: The Third World War, by the same authors.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
I first read this book 20 years ago. It was written at the time I was actually in the British Army and it is all so authentic, as you would anticipate from General Hackett. This and the first volume "The Third World War" are brilliantly written and they brought back all the memories of that time for me. We lived these scenarios every time we went out on exercise. Nice to know we may actually have won.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
Excellent book, well worth reading to review the opinions and thought of the writers a third of a century ago.
The delivery was so swift it is unbelieveable. Less than 24 hours. Well done.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
This was written before the gulf wars.
So i beleive ours and the Americans amoured units would have faired better.
After working in the Soviet Union he was 99 percent right.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
heavy going
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
great read, abit technical at times but would def recommend as alternate history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.59

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)