Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
41
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a collection of short stories - some featuring Lord Peter Wimsey, some featuring clever salesman Montague Egg and two crime short stories which don't feature either character. I particularly liked 'The Necklace of Pearls' in which Lord Peter uses his powers of observation to find a missing necklace and 'The Queen's Square' which also features events at a party.

Montague Egg, with his rhyming couplets, sunny temperament and excellent powers of observation, is a marvellous character. I always wish when I read stories about him that Dorothy L Sayers had given him a book to himself. I loved the way he helps a girl rescue her cat in 'Mahar-shalal-hashbaz' and the ingenious murder in the same story.

The last two stories in the collection are ingenious and I particularly enjoyed the neat twist in 'The Man Who Knew How'. This is an excellent and varied collection of crime short stories and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys short stories as well as fans of DLS.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
delightful little stories, some more sinister than others, written, i believe, for various magazines, in order to bring in some money for ms sayers...they are slight, but have an edge, ir a twist, ir some memorable plot, or character...fun entertainment, with a lingering aftertaste... maybe for complete-ists?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
A mixed bag of short stories from Dorothy L Sayers with a mix of protagonists. Only a few feature Wimsey. All pleasant reading -in particular, good old Montague Egg is great fun. All good stuff- classic mysteries of the golden age. Well worth a read (and a bargainous price at the moment on kindle too!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
Short stories that are a box of chocolates every one with the perfect centre, Sayers at her absolute best, well worth a read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2016
Vintage Sayers. Three Lord Peter Wimsey stories, and a good measure of Montague Egg as well, rich in bons mots from the Salesman's Handbook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
DLS is my favourite of all the Golden Age mystery writers and this collection doesn't disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
More of a long 'short story'. A reflection of emergent information about identical twins, another plot line where D.L. Sayers picks up on topical scientific research of the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 August 2013
"Hangman's Holiday" is a collection of short stories. There are twelve mysteries around the twenties and thirties England in this book, each stands alone but has a common feel; they are:
"The Image in the Mirror"
"The Incredible Elopement of Lord Peter Wimsey"
"The Queen's Square"
"The Necklace of Pearls"
"The Poisoned Dow '08"
"Sleuths on the Scent"
"Murder in the Morning"
"One too Many"
"Murder at Pentecost"
"Maher-Shalal-Hashbaz"
"The Man Who Knew How"
"The Fountain Plays"

It may be my perception but the mysteries get better and more intriguing as the next one appears. Then it is over.

I will not pull the stories apart as the fun is letting them unfold. If you like other Sayers' writings you will like this collection of short stories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Hangman's Holiday" is a collection of short stories. There are twelve mysteries around the twenties and thirties England in this book, each stands alone but has a common feel; they are:
"The Image in the Mirror"
"The Incredible Elopement of Lord Peter Wimsey"
"The Queen's Square"
"The Necklace of Pearls"
"The Poisoned Dow '08"
"Sleuths on the Scent"
"Murder in the Morning"
"One too Many"
"Murder at Pentecost"
"Maher-Shalal-Hashbaz"
"The Man Who Knew How"
"The Fountain Plays"

It may be my perception but the mysteries get better and more intriguing as the next one appears. Then it is over.

I will not pull the stories apart as the fun is letting them unfold. If you like other Sayers' writings you will like this collection of short stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 July 2013
"Hangman's Holiday" is a collection of short stories. There are twelve mysteries around the twenties and thirties England in this book, each stands alone but has a common feel; they are:
"The Image in the Mirror"
"The Incredible Elopement of Lord Peter Wimsey"
"The Queen's Square"
"The Necklace of Pearls"
"The Poisoned Dow '08"
"Sleuths on the Scent"
"Murder in the Morning"
"One too Many"
"Murder at Pentecost"
"Maher-Shalal-Hashbaz"
"The Man Who Knew How"
"The Fountain Plays"

It may be my perception but the mysteries get better and more intriguing as the next one appears. Then it is over.

I will not pull the stories apart as the fun is letting them unfold. If you like other Sayers' writings you will like this collection of short stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse