Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
18
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2010
I read this book couple of years ago. It was just brilliant. I feel we would have gotten more (trilogy at least) if Octavia hadn't died unexpectedly. It really is sad that we would not be graced by more of Ms Butler's excellence. I feel robbed LOL. My love for her started with "Kindred".....brilliant book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
I am so glad I finished this book - I could not put it down and everything else (work, cooking, sleep) has had to suffer - it's a fantastic book incorporating many of Octavia's previous themes into a modern vampire whodunnit courtroom drama!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
Brilliant story, excellently written by amazing writer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Unusual take on the Vampire genre but very interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
This book is the New Testament of vampire lore that should be on the reading list of all who have been sucked in by either Buffy or Twilight.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this story.
I found it difficult to keep up with who was with which family etc.
Only disappointment was that it came to an end too soon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Just sad that the author didn't finish the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
It seems a writer cannot write a vampire book these days without twisting the genre in someway in order to make it their own. What did Butler do? Well the Vampires in her book do not live forever, just a very long time. They do need human blood to survive but only a small amount at a time meaning that they don't kill their victims and taking blood is extremely pleasurable for the human. In order to survive a vampire will have around 6-8 humans who live with them and act as personal blood banks each taking it in turns to give them blood/sex whatever. The bond between the vampire and these humans is apparently so strong that if one of the humans dies the vampire is practically crippled by the pain this brings.

The book follows `Shori' a female vampire who has been genetically modified to make her black and therefore more comfortable in sunlight. She wakes in a forest suffering from amnesia and has to firstly find out who and what she is, how to survive, where to find others like her and work out who wants to kill her.

I had quite a few problems with this book. Firstly although Shori is technically 53 years old, she only looks about 12 so when she has sex with her human companion it's a bit disturbing to read. It's never made clear if the human in question wants to have sex with her because they share some kind of blood bond or if he finds young girls sexually attractive as they go at it quite soon after meeting.

Most of the book is spent wittering on needlessly about the complicated lifestyle of Butler's vampires while `Shori' finds out about her vampire nature and the ways of her human companions. It got boring and very very silly. Also the fact that Shori is genetically engineered is a theme that in my opinion is not fully explored, I feel that Butler really missed a good opportunity here. I did however finish this book because the writing itself was not bad and I think I will try this author again as she seems to be a very popular writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.48
£15.18
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here