Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2010
If you enjoy reading books about the entertainment industry then I'd recommend this autobiography of Jerry Weintraub. I couldn't put it down. Weintraub is a big name in entertainment in the US. The first three-quarters of the book are the best. The years of building up his music and management company (working with Elvis, Sinatra and John Denver), then getting started in movies (he's best known for the Ocean's 11 films), are both insightful and entertaining.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
A fantastic book - I read it in 3 days. I hid in the corner of the house trying to get through the book quicker.

You'll laugh, wonder how he did it, and cry.

Fascinating read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
I have read many Hollywood/Music industry bios and auto bios (the latter of which this is).

Weintraub's book is useful in that it provides a great insight into the film and music industries in the early days, pimarily in New York and LA. Also, as it says on the cover, Weintraub gives pretty basic but good life and business advice throughout.

One niggle: I don't doubt that Jerry Weintraub is a great businessman, but there is a consistent 'Aren't I so wonderful' element to all of Weintraub's listed deals, friends made and other smooth, smug deeds.
No matter who you are or what you've done, a little self deprecation is in order (for example, the truly great 'The kid stays in the picture' by Robert Evans).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
Great book, with lots of great lessons to be learned, however at times I felt as if Weintraub was just bragging about his achievements. I felt like he should have maybe elaborated a bit more in detail on how he became so successful rather than delve too much into his personal relationships and celebrity friends. Nevertheless this is a fantastic read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
A really interesting read about someone who has had an amazing life! Jerry seems to have done everything and seems to enjoy everything be does. Quite an inspiring biography about someone who shows that with determination and an open mind anything is possible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
This spin through Weintraub's astonishing career is terrific fun and highly inspirational to anyone looking to make it in the world of entertainment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
I bought this book on the Kindle mainly because of Jerry's connection to Elvis Presley. However, I found the whole book a fascinating read. I've seen documentaries about Jerry Weintraub and he comes across as a very genuine, sincere, entertaining man with a lot of wonderful stories from his many decades in showbiz. He's worked with some of the biggest names of all time, and his experiences are almost told from a teacher's point of view, teaching from his own mistakes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
A fantastic story of an amazing life. I read it on a flight and could not put it down. Just try to make sure that it is not delivered by DPD delivery who are just awful to deal with. It's one of the things that now puts me off buying from Amazon. That and their marketplace sellers saying that something is in stock when it blatantly is not.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
I love this book - it's one of my favourites. It is entertaining, full of small un-academic pearls of wisdom. And you've just got to love the lifestyle of this man!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2010
Jerry Weintraub loves Jerry Weintraub and believes that Jerry Weintraub has led a fascinating life. As a result, Jerry Weintraub loves to tell stories about Jerry Weintraub. Here, Jerry Weintraub tells a lot of them, about promoting stars and making deals. Most are quite short. Many are compelling. Weintraub dispenses show business gossip, Mafia talk, family tales, accounts of rock music and movie excesses, and instructions for a successful career in promoting, agenting, managing and producing, all of which he carried out with astonishing success. getAbstract recommends Weintraub's insider yarns and finds that mostly what Weintraub presents is his joy at being Weintraub. That this delight remains for the most part charming underscores a continuing theme: His charm allowed Weintraub to pull off career moves few others would have dared.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)