Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2010
This is a great book providing not only an overview of the Maitland techniques but also the basic concepts, documentation, clinical reasoning and evidence for them. Each chapter also includes self-assessment questions to help consolidate learning.

I found the book generally easy to follow as chapters on the techniques included basic anatomy of the region including the neurogenics, common symptoms and special questions. Case studies were also useful in illustrating each section.

As a student, I have found this book most useful in preparing for patient assessment as I found that it followed a logical sequence that was easy to follow. The reason I have not given it 5/5 is that I find it a difficult resource to dip in and out of when I am looking for information quickly. All in all a great book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
This A5 sized book is actually 2 books in one: it contains basic information from both the vertebral and peripheral Maitland books.
The content covers assessment tool choice, clinical reasoning and treatment methods (both the theory and the practical).
It's small and compact - while it wont fit in a tunic pocket it's small enough to be carried around/to work easily and then used as a reference text.
It's very easy to read with a clear and logical layout to aid your understanding. It gives fantastic simple, clear directions (with pictures!) on how to carry out various manipulations. This is ideal for someone like me with limited experience in carrying out the technique (eg. the student) and provides a good reminder in the exact technique to a qualified professional who does not use that particular technique very often.
In these EBP times, it is worth noting that it references in text (something not all books like this do) with summary references at the end of each chapter so you know where to go for further information.
For those with an interest in MSK this is a great reference text and if I were to pick just one book on MSK to use on placement, this would be it. This'll probably be one of the few textbooks I actually read from cover to cover!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
This book is excellent. It is incredibly well written, and covers a huge amount of areas, in a manageable way. I can definitely recommend this book to Physio students who are interested in widening their knowledge of manual techniques.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
What a great book for a student of sports therapy of physiotherapy! has all the relevent maitland techniques for every area, i.e knee, foot etc includes some neuro tests for both the vertebral coloumn and periferal joints! combines both the big texts into one seemless package thats easy to read, it's also a pretty handy size! great book! worth the cash, save some money and just buy this instead of the other two big maitland texts!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
Using this as part of my Msc and it's been invaluable so far. Nice and clear and well illustrated. It goes through sections by asking questions and covers everything you need to know. It does not go through anatomy in depth but this is not an anatomy book and it is presumed you have that background knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
I bought this book as it combines the info in both the spinal and peripheral books and is much easier to carry around uni. It got me through my spinal viva and it will hopefully be the perfect companion when I go out on my first MSK placement. It's packed full of useful information on assessment, treatment, contraindications and it is well referenced. It is clearly written and very easy to understand. I would definitely recommend it for physio students and newly qualified physios who may be a little bit rusty on their MSK skills or just need reassurance that they're on the right track.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
Great book. I would definitely recommend this, not just for students. For all clinicians with an interest in msk physiotherapy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
Really really good book, very easy to find what you're looking for! Pictures dead helpful too! Would defiantly recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
If you are a student, then it is must have...Extremely good explanation and strategy of how to identify various pathology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
Good book for sport therapist less gargen to understand
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)