Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2017
Actually a gift for a friend but skimmed through it got some great short stories from a variety of authors good value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2010
I was a little dissapointed at first as when I bought this book I thought it had a New Sookie Stackhouse short story and it wasn't. However, it was a very eleceltic group of 13 short stories and I enjoyed them all and it has given me a new list of authors to explore.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
This is a great anthology. All the authors were given the two criteria of vampires and birthdays, and then were left to see what they came up with. I bought most of these paranormal/vampire anthologies for Charlaine Harris's stories and, for the most part, her stories were usually the only good ones (except for Jim Butcher). However, this is a solid anthology. While not all the stories are spectacular, they are all at least interesting and mostly enjoyable. This one also features the best of Charlaine Harris' short stories from the different anthologies
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As many know, compendiums are one of the joys of my reading existence. The reason for this is that when you get a set of tales from the talent of a genre you know that it's a great way to try authors that you've heard of but haven't tried yet as well as getting short stories from firm favourites. It's a win win all round and for me, a great price to not have to worry about in case some of the authors aren't to your personal taste.

This title edited by Charlaine and Toni is a wonderful new addition to those that have gone before and with a whole host of authors like Kelley Armstrong, Jim Butcher as well as Christopher Golden and Rachel Caine, you know that the pleasure is going to be turned up to 11. Great stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2009
This is a collection of short stories by an asortment of authors, all based around vampires and birthdays, many are returns to your favourite characters from their books, introductions to new charcters based in already established worlds, or some new, original vampire stories.
All in all a good buy, it won't disappoint, and though there are many stories each and every one has new take on the combination of vampires and brithdays, and no two stories sound anything remotely alike.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2008
One of the best 'horror' collections I have read in years! I Absolutely recommended this collection if you'd like to learn more about your favorite characters, like Dresden, Sookie Stackhouse, Garnet, and Henry, the vampire from the tv-series Blood Ties! Not a single one of the stories in this book is a bust; it is simply charming!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2008
Anthologies are a great way to find new authors, have ordered a few more to read [tate halloway to be specific], I loved Jim Butchers 'It's my Birthday, too' so good. Well worth a read, even if you've only heard about one author.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2009
I bought this book originally because it had some short stories from authors that i have already liked and enjoyed. However i ended up reading all of the book and i found it to be quite a good read if you are into the vampire scene.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2010
I found the book had some interesting tales,did buy the book because it had a Sookie Stackhouse story advertised on the front cover. The story "Dracula Night" I had read before it is in the book "A touch of dead"
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
I love short stories and find that the Charlaine Harris collections and usually very good. This was no exception, I love all the different styles of writing and the various authors ideas of "horror".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here