Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 22 April 2017
Having a itch recently to go into another Fantasy series, this one cropped up on my radar. I picked up the initial book and in the end ploughed through the whole series of 6 books over a two week period, so in effect writing this review retrospectively.

The book is a bit more on the light side compared to some fantasy books, but there is lots of strands and activates going on at the same time which keeps things intriguing and fresh. The characters are mostly well written and in this case what makes the main character unique is he lacks most of the powers that most of the stronger cast have. As a result he has to approach conflicts, battles etc from a different perspective. The main race in the story and their hierarchy are very loosely based on the Roman Empire and this gets interesting, more so later in the series you will see, but as a result we see some of the intrigue and plotting similar to that era.

In all the series is refreshing and this book is a solid start to a great series. Thankfully the series actually ends and while it is not the most complex series out there nor the most well written, it is a great way to whittle away the time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
This was bought to replace the book from this series that I lent to a friend. I have already read and re-read this series a few times over a few years now and I enjoy it just as much as the first time. As a matter of interest, my friend was unable to put the book down and went through the entire series, reading through the night on many occasions - I was informed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
This was a good book. A really good book. The furies mechanic is really interesting, the characters are really well written and fleshed out, the story is engaging, the writing is fantastic... But when it comes down to it, it's just plain old vanilla fantasy, and I read Jim Butcher for something with a bit more edge to it. If Jim's reealllllyyy bored of writing Harry Dresden, then I hope he can start on something a little more interesting than this. 4 stars because as fantasy books go, it's a bloody good one, but it's not what I'm looking for from Butcher.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Fabulous - this series is brilliant - super, engaging characters who interact beautifully with affection and humour - typical Jim Butcher writing - totally recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Having read the "Aeronaut's Windlass", where the characters were complex and interesting, I was disappointed in "Furies of Calderon", which read like a "Boy's Own" adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Another high fantasy series about an orphan boy with a secret past that not even he knows about? A story about the little person overcoming the odds? I won't do the repetition down, for such themes are as old as Storytelling itself. I imagine our ancestors sat in their caves telling the story about the littlest hunter taking on the monsters long before we knew how to write them down. For all Butcher's commonplace themes, he takes traditional storytelling and from that builds a world which is vivid and original.

Butcher's first love was high fantasy describing himself as a dual citizen of Narnia and Middle earth, and in these books he returned to an alternative Roman Empire mired in was roughly corresponds in our world to late antiquity or perhaps the early Middle Ages. Everyone's a sorcerer - except a orphan apprentice shepherd called Tavi who dreams of going to the big city for an education, reasoning there's lots of stuff you can do that you don't need magic for.. Tavi's lack of magic means - like anyone with a disability - he has to find a way round his problems, and the result is a brain which solves problems in a way his world has never seen. Tavi's abilities are needed when his valley comes under attack, starting an epic series where high politics and devious dealings in his countries ruling class bring Tavi's world to the brink of a terrifying zombie/bug apocalypse.

What I loved about this series - as usual with butchers writing - was there was more than one hero/heroine to the tale. Female characters are depicted with empathy and insight as much as the male characters. In places the series felt a little "game of thronesy" but with infinitely more action. These books are a page turning Butcher doesn't have the head for politics and intrigue in the way that Martin does, but the books compensate for this in pretty much non-stop action - Butcher seems to come from the "if in doubt, have some bugger crash through a wall and beat the other guy up". There is merit to this, but some time to pause and appreciate the intricacies of the world he created would have been nice. I like my fantasy with more intrigue and less hacking and hewing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I'm a follower of Jim Butchers Dresden series and was abit apprehensive about reading these books as 'it wasn't Dresden' (yes I know that sounds idiotic! BUT I'm glad I gave them a try!!!!

The characters are well thought out and the plot twist and turns as only Jim can weave :D

Basically just buy it and read it for yourself, but if you want my opinion this series is GREAT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2016
took me by surprise after reading the Harry Dresden files. was not expecting such a change in genre. but the characters are believable and the plot will be expanded further on. the sort of book you read during the small hours. will certainly read the rest off the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
Good to see this series out on Kindle,Mr. Butcher is reliably good as ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Great story and it takes you away to anothger world with ease.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse