Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2017
An excellent book by an author whose Robot stories were early - and groundbreaking - classics has been rendered almost unreadable by lack of intelligent proof-reading. I very much suspect that most proof-reading these days is done electronically, and the man who said that a computer is an idiot studying to become a moron pretty much got it in one.

I did try marking the typos - mostly errors in formatting such as failure to start a new paragraph when the speaker changed, or intoducing a double line-break in the middle of a sentence - but after the first few chapters I was losing the will to live and gave up the unequal struggle.

I was disturbed by the many unfavourable reviews highliting this problem, but most of them were a few years old so I assumed that the books had been proof-read - maybe (miracles have been known to happen) by a Real Human Being - and the problem had been solved. Maybe they haven't been proof-read, or maybe - an even more disturbing possibility - they have and, although I shudder at the thought, they might originally have been even worse.

Just as an aside; this ebook costs £6.37, at about the same time I bought two collections of Edgar Wallace classics for 99p each. Now which do you think has the most errors? That's right - Robot Dreams wins by the length of a motorway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Thoughtful stories though clearly of their time and developing at a rather slower pace than we are perhaps used to today. Nevertheless, Asimov has a brilliant instinct for story structure and development and was amongst the most far-sighted writers ever to have put pen to paper. These stories speak to the legendary anxieties of mid-twentieth century populous. Dive in and enjoy. I did!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
As always! Very good reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
I'm a big Asimov fan and his short stories are well renowned. These are no exception and I enjoyed them immensely. The only issue was the poor formatting in Kindle. The stories had occasional spurious characters within them and paragraph structure was poor meaning that often conversations started halfway in a line making reading awkward.

That aside; the quality of the stories more than make up for this and I would happily buy more Isaac Asimov offerings.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
I bought this volume to refresh my memories of Asimov's Robot short stories, but was disappointed to find that few of those included featured robots. They are nevertheless well crafted tales, whose main interest now is how prophetic, or otherwise, the "science" has proved to be. This is something that Asimov's own forward waxes eleoquently about. Otherwise the Kindle version has its now expected burden of misspelled and badly parsed errors. Despite Amazon's claims to the contrary, these books are being transcribed to digital format rather badly.

With these reservations, if you are interested in vintage SCi-Fi, this is worth having in your collection.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
This book is absolutely full of incorrectly formatted sentences and mis-scanned words. Possibly the worst conversion to an e-book I've ever seen. Absolutely no proofing or quality control has gone into it, it's been scanned and dumped into the market for a quick buck. I'd like to see the publisher have the guts to actually issue a revised version with the hundreds, yes hundreds, of format and scan errors corrected.

Having said this, some of Asimov's classics are within, - if you can get past the nightmare of an e-book gone wrong. .
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2004
Don't be put off by the title of my review, as this book is really good. However when I bought this book, taking account of its name, i expected a whole lot of robot stuff. Instead, this book has a few robot stories and then it goes on with science fiction unrelated to robots.
I am not saying that this book is bad, but if you expected to have a book with over 400 pages packed with infomation and stories about robots, get another book like Robot Visions.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2001
This book is a compilation of most of his robot stories with a brief introduction and some brilliantly written essays at the end exploring the future of robotics (the word "robotics" was coined by Asimov himself!)and their place with mankind. The book has beautifull illustrations throughout by the artist Ralph Mcquarrie, the star wars artist. The only bad point is that several of the stories occur in I, Robot.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Asimov gets five stars for a readable and inventive collection of classic scifi.

The publisher and Kindle get zero as a reflection of their effort. Nobody selling this book has bothered to check it. There are hundreds of errors. It gives meaning to the phrase 'money for nothing.'

Asimov would be horrified, as any writer would be. I shall ask for a refund.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
If like me you are a sci fi addict, you will love this book. Some of the best stories came from the great author and scientist Isaac Asimov.
He pretty much invented the idea of robots as we now think of them and came up with the idea of The 3 Laws Of Robotics which has become pretty universal among sci fi writers and movie makers. This is a great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse