Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
43
The Sorcerer in the North (Ranger's Apprentice Book 5)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 May 2017
Excellent read for my nephew
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2017
My 11 yo loves this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2017
Excellent read, was apprehensive about Will no longer being an apprentice anymore but I was pleasantly surprised with the result.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2014
I have enjoyed all of the series so far. It is a perfect way to lose yourself in another world and in another time. The characters have become friends and my life is better for having them there. Thank you John.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2011
All the Ranger's Apprentice books are excellent. There are brilliant plot twists, real depth and development to the characters, both male and female characters are strong and well drawn and there is good witty humour between them. They are not really dark and the books have good endings but they are not "twee" for all that. Some books, like this one, are part one of a two part story. This one concludes with book 6 The Siege of Mackindaw but that is brilliant too. Hey I've bought them all ... enough said?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 April 2009
Wil is now a fully qualified ranger and is sent off on a special mission.
Once again we have a thrilling adventure full of action and old friends and new characters.
My only complaint is that one is left almost in mid sword strike and I feel that readers would rather have the whole story in one much longer book. If Harry Potter can run to 600 plus pages for a complete story, why not This series.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2016
Book five of this popular series of YA fantasy novels is actually meant to be read as book six. So just to make sure you get your money’s worth, i strongly suggest that you follow is recommended reading order. Now onto the book’s story line ...

Will Treaty, at last, is old enough to be declared a Ranger in his own right, and to be awarded his first Fiefdom. But just when he is getting comfortable in his new abode, and making more friends than he knows what to do with, he is given the task of working undercover (as a jongleur, no less) in a magnificently atmospheric northern castle (Macindaw) to ascertain the truth, or otherwise, of the rumours considering the use of black magic by a mysterious sorcerer.

And so off Will goes, in search of adventure and justice.

Along the way, Will makes decisions that may well come back to bite him. New friends are made, but just as easily, are new enemies. And of course the worst thing is that some of these enemies are made without Will (or the reader) realising.

The writing in this book is based on the same writing style as the preceding volumes in the series. I must admit the first half of the book is a little flat, and dare i say it, a little disinteresting. Not much happens in the first 150 pages, and when it does, its all a trifle slow. But events transpire in the story’s second half to lift the fable out of this apparent quagmire of mediocrity. The reader finds out - a little too late for Will’s best interests - who the Sorcerer is, how the magic works, and who can be trusted, and who can’t. The book’s real baddies become apparent, as do the good guys.

And of course, the REAL good guys finally sense something is wrong with their grand plan right at the end when they send a fan favourite off to the mystery to see what the big hold up is.

SORCERER IN THE NORTH is definitely worth your time. It is worth your money, too, but obviously make sure that you read the preceding books in the series first. And the story even ends on a cliff hanger, so we can safely assume that the sequel - THE SIEGE OF MACINDAW - will have plenty of drama, twists, thrills and spills, and of course the obligatory fist pumping finale just like book two did. Now, *that* book was fantastic. Unfortunately, this book isn’t. It’s still very good though. But lets just hope for the series’ sake that book six (THE SIEGE AT MACINDAW) lives up to the hopes and dreams of the millions of RANGERS APPRENTICE fans out there.

Bye for now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2013
This series of books is great, when I started reading them, I was still quite young, I then took a break from reading and went back to these books only a week ago, before I had only read the first book,in one week I have read all the way to this book. This book is riveting and unlike the others starts to introduce love for the young ranger, in the form of Allys. I find this very good as now it lets the author dabble with different feelings from losing that loved one or from someone else having her, I am hoping this will open new opportunities for story line but hope that nothing comes between will and Horace like loving the same girl as this would throw much into disarray, I loved the book and can't wait to read the others, I recommend this book for children, young adults, teens and adolescents, this is also a good book to start people off with reading as it is simple and easy to understand but even if you are confused it makes you want to look it up to see what it means overall great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2009
This was another thrilling installment in the life of the Ranger's. I love the way this book sparks your imagination. How the author described the scenes made me feel that I was right there with them!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 August 2011
Here in the fifth release by John Flanagan is a title of magic, of deceit, treachery and friendship as our heroes struggle to make their own way in the world after Will has passed Apprenticeship to become a full ranger. As usual, its great fun, the characters are outstanding and with friends from the past coming into their own with careful manipulation by players behind the scenes trying to take advantage as well as manipulate the situation which makes this a tale that's hard to put down.

All in a whole lot of fun, characters who will grip the reader and a story/series that just gets better and better as it continues. Magical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse