Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 6 March 2017
Grandchildren love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
It was very good but at some parts I didn't understand them. But Marigolds tattoos are super cool. And yes I would recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2017
This book is one of many with a happy ending; though it was abrupt. It's an enjoyable, heart-wrenching story. Though I don't often re-read books, when I re-read this one it remained an extravagant read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
My daughter is very happy with the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
this is the best book ive read so far. i recommend it to age 10 and up. i finished it in less than 2days and i love the suspense !!!! 5 *****
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
This is actually quite a dark book about Dolphin our ten year old narrater, her thirteen year old sister Star and their thirty-three year old mother Marigold.

Marigold is not your congenital mother, she is covered in tattoos that mean something to her and she is also a little nutty. I'm not sure if I would called her manic depressive or say that she is bi-polar. Both fit her personality type.

The book focuses on their struggles with coping with their mothers behaviour and the fact that they are looking after her. Marigold finds the man she pines for (Mickey) where he finds out her has a daughter. This is where Dolphin struggles with the green-eyed-monster as her mother has never told her much about her own father.

As Star and Dolphin star falling apart and Star goes off to be with her father, Dolphin is left holding the fort together, but tragedy strikes. With the help of her best friend Dolphin finds her father and other adults that start to help her out and her preconceived ideas on what life is like.

Although the book does end a bit abruptly, is nice to know that both girls find that they have other people that will help and care for them when things get harm, but the issues of where they are going to live are never actually solved.

This book is targeted at young teens I would guess and it does have some very gritty moments, but younger readers could well struggle with the content in the fact that its basically a broken home. The book also has bullying issues along with the fact that Marigold drinks a lot.

A grittier book than I thought it would be.(
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
Good read. My daughter LOVED this book. Well written and great story. Highly recommended to KS2, tween age and even the grown ups love it too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I am a 35 year-old Mum and this was still one of the best books I have ever read. The subject matter was dealt with with great sensitivity, reality and humour. Jacqueline Wilson writes with impartiality and a complete lack of judgement about the actions and lives of the the main characters.The feelings and experiences of the three in the book are conveyed with simple language, through the eyes of a child,and yet are conveyed with such depth and honesty. Jacqueline Wilson is, without a doubt, the most talented and perceptive writer of our generation.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Double Act
£5.51
Bad Girls
£6.99
Lola Rose
£5.28
Secrets
£5.25

Need customer service? Click here