Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
36
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2016
Well, I bought Hollywood Babylon years ago. It was a sort of coffee table, pick and read to go to sleep book... This one is .... well, v. v. small! Original book is A5 size, this one is tiny and not very good quality. Some interesting parts/photos... but the chapter about Clara Bow is dreadfully untrue. Only know this because of other books I have read about her... Therefore, I would recommend ignoring this book for any true historical fact.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2001
a fasinating insight to the seedy side of old hollywood, you get to read about the real hollywood the stars and the movie moguls. the wild parties held in secret and the damage they caused. A must for the curious hollywood fan and a truely indepth view of the stars and their sordid lives.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I read this book when first published and thought it a vehicle for Anger to express his disgust at the industry that scorned him. Some reviewers consider it to be scurrilous half truths or fabrication. I suspect that analysis is accurate, but I also suspect the whole truth would be much more unpalatable and less likey to be published. Aside from 'Mommy Dearest' there was not much published back then to show the stars with their feet of clay; now it is the vogue.
I wish the volume had more proven facts, but given the publicity machines used by the studios to build images and hide scandal, it would be a vain hope.
Apart from the murders, this book is a mild catalogue compared with the inane behaviour inflicted upon us by the "celebrities" that infest the media today.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
a wonderful bitchfest of Hollywood a cracking read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2008
This book is a delicous and dirty expose on old Hollywood; a must for any old Hollywood film buffs out there. Kenneth Anger writes in a lovely tongue in cheek somewhat ironic style, this makes the book an easy read. Sometimes shocking within the context that the likes of Louis B Mayer went to great lengths to portray a cheesecake and super moral image of their stars and sometimes a little sad to read of the tortured souls behind the glitz.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
The first time I read this book I was obsessed with having my own copy, which I've read over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
Anger's famous book about the hedonsitic early years of Hollywood. The all-powerful studios wanted the cinema going public to think their stars were pure whiter than white and often covered up their goings on. This book was something of a sensation when it came out in the 1970's

A knowledge of some of the early film stars would help. The author throws names around like confetti, you might not be familiar with some of the actors/actresses who populate the pages. There are some gorgeous publicity photographs, and some not so gorgeous death scenes.

This book is best read in small portions, as I'd imagine ploughing through chapter after chapter of film stars variously shagging, drinking, injecting substances, becoming bankrupt, fighting court cases and OD'ing (even sometimes all of these things) would only get boringly repetetive. A good scandalous read if you like this sort of thing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 1998
Not for the faint hearted! this is THE classic book at what hollywood is at its core a very unusual book the Author, Kenneth Anger reveals alot of repulsive info about various popular stars sometimes backed up with up photographs this also has a number of shocking photographs such as the actual police photographs of the black dahlia murder victim her body was cut in half and hollowed out and dumped in a vacant lot in L.A. for all to see they never caughthim and it remains one of the most horrible murders in US history even in present time a full sixty years latera most unusual book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
great seven stars all round
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
excellent product thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)