Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 12 May 2002
I really did enjoy this book. From the first page it was full of entertainment and not once did i find myself bored while reading it.
When i bought this book i thought it would be you average she fancies a boy but will never in a million years go out with him etc. but it wasn't.
The story is about a girl called Mattie (short for Matilda) who has been living with her mum and younger sister for the past 5 or 6 years in a small cottage by a beach in Devon ( she moved away from her father when she was 10 because he regularly got drunk and ended beating up thier mum)
Mattie was used to her mum going out with men from work and meeting them when they came round for dinner and didn't mind her mum going out and having fun as she had been through a lot when they lived with their father. This was until her mum started seeing the stylistically challenged Geoffry. Geoffry didn't turn out to be one of the 'callers' and the relationship between him and their mum began to get serious. One problem was that Geoffry also had a son, Rupert the geek.
MAtties mum eventually gets married to Geoffry but things don't run smoothly as MAttie can't stand Rupert and has started teasing him, calling him tin grin etc.
MAttie has other problems to deal with as well such as Sam the most popular boy in school who seems to show an interest in mattie but was is he really after???
This is a really good book that covers a lot of important points like bullying, peer pressure and step families but has a funny side to it - i found myself smiling when i read some parts. NOt only does it show all these things but it gives you two sides to the story, Matties and Ruperts.
It is quite a thick book so it should keep you amused for quite a while, i know it did me!!!
I shall definately be getting some more of Cathrine Robinson's books
Enjoy!!!!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2004
This book is great and so funny and cynical! Anyone who's ever
had a crush on a cool guy/been annoyed by younger siblings/felt like they had a naff family will relate to this and love it. It's about a girl called Mattie who is pleased when her mum gets a scruffy new boyfriend, Geoffrey - until he moves in with his know-it-all, nerdy son Rupert. Also Mattie fancies the hunk Sam Barker but does he really like her? Gripping and excellent, this book will make you want to read it again and again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2002
When I bought 'Tin Grin' i couldn't put it down the people in the story i could really relate to and see there point of veiw it is a fun read that i found made me laugh aloud.There is also a very important lesson that Matilda learns toward the end.
All in all one of the best books i have ever read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2002
Well, honestly, I thought this book was going to be another one of those "Read this really great book" , the sort of one which all of your friends say is fab when they don't want to be the only one who had read a certain book. I picked it up, though, and thought "well iff it isn't very good then I can tell my friend that is incredibly boring. Well - I got into it at once and it really made you feel for both sides of the story.
Basicly, there is a girl living with her mother and sister. They left him because he was an alcoholic and hit all of them. They mover to a pretty home by the coast. She goes to a school called St Marks and has her eyes set on the most popular guy in the entire school. While home life gets worse, her mother meets and man, with a 13 year old son, and they get married very quickly. The 15 year old hates his supposed superior attitude and does everything she can to get back at everyone - who would think that Sex God would ever lye eyes on her with that awful step brother? But she was wrong, he comes onto her big time, near to losing her...Actually, I won't tell - it'll spoil it!
I think any youth in their right mind should GET IT NOW!!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2002
Mattie's mum has just got married and she has a new brother. Her step-brother Rupert is a geek, he wears glasses and braces, he even got moved up a year because he's so brainy.
Mattie has fancied the fittest person (Sam) in school for ages and he finally notices her and asks her out. Sam's friend Andy warns about things that Sam might do to her, but she doesn't care she just thinks she the luckiest girl in the world!What will happen?
I recommend this book for teenagers but it might be too easy because the writing's big.
I thought it was an excellent and touching (at the end) book, i really enjoyed it!
Happy Reading! :-)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2010
Product arrived swiftly and in excellent condition as advertised. Was a brilliant read and will definitely be buying products via this seller again :) Would recommend to all, top class service!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2003
I'm not really a book lover, but this book was great. i read it while i was on holiday and it took me just days to read it! I got really into it! once i picked it up i just carried on reading it for hours. I couldn't put it down. The characters were really easy to relate to. When i finished the book i didn't want it to end, i wanted it to carry on because i had got so into it.
It was a great book to read and i recommend it to everyone!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2003
Tin Grin,is a book many will enjoy. Mattie doesn't know whats in for her but when she finds out, her mum has met a new man she doesn't know if it's for the worst.As she thought it couldn't get worse, Rupert is the new step-brother to be. Mattie know's that Rupert is going to make her life hell!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2004
This book was really good. It's about two girls who live with their mum, after they left their dad. Their mum marries a man with a 13 year old son, and they all start living together. Mattie (the elder daughter) hates this, but while this is going on at home she starts to fall for sex god Sam. This is one of the best books for teens I have ever read!!!! Try it!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here