Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
61
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Spiral-bound|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

If you like the split page concept, which has traditionally been used for dressing up style books, i.e. policeman's head with ballerina's body and footballer's knees, type thing, you will love this. Sharratt repeats the success of 'A Cheese and Tomato Spider', which works the same way, and this is none the worse for that.

The thing that will always make Sharratt perennially popular, no matter what he does, is the fine quality of his illustrations and the perennial appeal they have for children anywhere. I have yet to meet a child who doesn't like his work. The drawings are bold and amusing on their own, with this format the child is in charge of creating some fantastic and bizarre creations of their own, which puts them in the driving seat and allows them free rein with their imagination. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2000
This book is endless fun. My 3 and 4 year olds love it. The odd combinations of food provide riotous fun. The pictures and words are bold and eyecatching.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2008
Ok, so it may not be the best book for progressing childrens reading skills, but it is so fun!
When I was younger me and my friend used to sit through class in fits of laughter reading this book - "Do you put a rubber duck on your head?" "Do you put milk in your bath?" - hilarious!
The flip-style structure makes children make up their own weird combinations. Great illustrations, a simple and light read - a must for youngsters.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2005
Ketchup on your cornflakes? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! Do you like ketchup in your bath? My two kids have both really enjoyed this books simple and humorous approach to learning words and reading.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
Laugh out loud funny with brilliantly bright illustrations. You and your little one will love reading this. It's suitable for both younger toddlers and bigger ones. My girls (20 mths & 3) both find this rip roaringly funny (and I do too!!!).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2009
Again, this was a present for my 3 year old nephew, I chose it as he loves the Never Use a Knife and Fork book so much and this looked similar. I sit with him and read it and with the inclusion of some silly voices and expressions when it is a ridiculous combination, he absolutely loves it. The only trouble being that he never wants to let me stop reading it with him!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2010
I could read this book all day and my 3-year old niece will never get tired of it. It's not a story as such and not recommended for bed time (as children get very involved in it - "Rubber Duck on your Cornflakes?" "Nooooo!!"). Great colours and structured in a clever way with split pages so that you get a different 'story' each time. Great fun!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2016
Always popular with our own grandchildren between about 2 and 3.5 years old, this book was sent to a nephew for his third birthday and I gather he's having a good time with it. It's not hilarious to children, but definitely fascinates them and raises happy giggles. Good also for early independent reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2009
This has been a big hit with 3 - 4 year old girl. The book is divided into moveable top and bottom halves, each with a picture and words. Each move to create wonderful combinations of things like: "do you like 'woolly hat' on your 'cornflakes'", 'toothpaste' on your 'duck' and 'ketchup' on your 'toes'. It's a great learning tool for getting children to think about what's right and wrong and why and the funny combinations create lots of lovely expressions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Another lovely book from Nick Sharratt, perfect for all ages.
The book itself is spiral bound and each page is split in two horizontally. The book is quite large. The idea is that children can match different foods that go together, but also foods that don't! This book has caused much hilarity in our house. I bought it for my 2 year old and she loves it. The concept is just starting to make sense to her and she laughs hysterically at some of the combinations.
As always the book is beautifully illustrated and captures the imagination. All-in-all a hit!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here