Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2017
Bought for my son, studying the Saxons at school. He prefers to read these books, as they are bite size pieces of info and humour, which he loves. Struggles to stay interested for long with usual books. Another Horrible Histories triumph!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2016
my daughter is doing saxons at school and we read this book together at bedtime (yuk!) and when we had got to the end, my daughter read the whole thing again.. recommend this as its a period of history which i think needs a book like this to help explain it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Grandchildren loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Grandson loves this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2007
'The Smashing Saxons tells you the terrible truth about the pillaging people who bashed the Brits but got nobbled by the Normans...

No baked beans, no chocolate, no chips. Would you really liked to have lived in those days?
Like most other ages in horrible history a lot might depend on whether you were a rich noble or a pathetic peasant...for example...'

Read on for foul facts on cut-throat kings, disgusting diseases and ghastly graves.
Find out how to make like a monk with silent signals, be the judge in a Saxon criminal court, and solve 1000-year-old riddles.
History has never been so horrible!'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 128 pages, split over chapters:

1. Timeline
2. The Saxon start
3. Superstitious Saxons
4. Awesome Arthur
5. Naughty nuns and mischievous monks
6. Saxon skills
7. Awful Offa, Alf and Ath
8. Woeful for women
9. Saxon scoffers
10. Curious cures
11. Ethelred the Ready for Beddy
12. Saxon crime and punishment
13. Vile verse
14. Pester your parents

with an introduction & an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour, in a variety of type styles with superb illustrations/cartoons throughout, from Martin Brown, as usual.

'History with the nasty bits left in!'
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Blood guts, chaos and violence-i love it. Go and buy it as it teaches you the history of the early english in a very clear and fun way (not just for kids)Dont listen to modern society, the saxons werent just nasty invaders, they were the ancestors that created small kingdoms out of what was left of Roman Britain that became known as England (and it was named after the invading angles from Denmark (often called Saxons by the Britons) also spelled Engles,and England means 'Land of the Engles', get it?, were not really British, its a lie!!!. And the normans werent french they were descended from viking invaders from Denmark (the same place as the angles, so were all related really) Learn all about the Negative side of the saxon and norman invasions/settlement as well as some laws that make far more sense then our modern laws. Our government could learn how to run a country better from this book. To learn more Positively on our ancestors try 'A Brief History of the Anglo-Saxons'.
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2009
Find out who got cow pats as Christmas presents and why wearing a pig on your head is lucky and how to make a dead Saxon happy? This book is part of the fantastic `Horrible Histories' series of books by Terry Deary. In this book you can read of foul facts on ruthless rulers, sordid sicknesses, and pillaging people who bashed the Brits but got defeated by the French. And can you solve 1000 year old riddles. How much was your nose, your nail, your big toe or your little one or your back tooth worth when you murdered someone. How many ways are there to kill a criminal? FIND OUT IN THIS BOOK WHERE HISTORY HAS NEVER BEEN SO HORRIBLE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
The Smashing Saxons is good but not great, one of the lesser Horrible Histories books and certainly one of the easiest to overlook. It's still a good read, and great for teaching kids about history, but The Vicious Vikings and The Rotten Romans blow it out of the water for entertainment value.

Still, the cartoons are fantastic and Terry Deary always leaves a bit of his personality behind in the books that he writes, and when you consider you can pick up a used copy online for a couple of quid plus postage, it's not bad! Just be sure to get the other Horrible Histories books, first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
I wanted this as a teaching aid. Although I have not used this as much as other books I ordered, my able readers like it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
Brilliant! Exactly what is needed to make children take an interest in history. This is Horrible History without the boring bits. Bought it for my grandson (7), but I think it would be enjoyed by anyone from 6 up to teenage. Funny cartoons, but also some proper information about the time and the people. Great idea, superbly done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse