Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
109
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2014
ive gone through this book completely and it really helps! you probably cant go over it without a tutor because its not perfect but as long as you have external questions to ask and questions to answer from a different book it should be fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
A MUST BUY FOR EXAMS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
It gives a good overview of all basic concepts whilst also providing in depth explanations and detail where needed. would definitely buy again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Great textbook, and I bought it used for 1 pence as well! It was actually a legit seller! Bargain!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2016
Absolutely excellent quality literally a penny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
This book has been written by the chief examiner and keeps very close to the specimen topics, at the start of each page (or spread as the book calls it) there are several specimen points that that particular page is going to cover. I have to say there is some really good information in it however there are some areas that are extremely confusing (owed to the fact that it has been very poorly written and in an illogical manner). On balance however it is a good book to aid you in your knowledge. There are practice question that are useful for revision (although some not relevent to the specimen).

To sum up,

The good points:
- written by the chief examiner
- keeps closely to the specimen with some really goo content

The bad points:
- sometimes very hard to understand
- written in a confusing manner and not consistently explaining points
- layout is sometimes illogical and confusing
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2009
OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (AS and A2 OCR Biology)
It's a really good book for basic reading and understanding, and follows the syllabus exactly. it's the kind of thing you can read by yourself without too much trouble, as there are loads of pictures and diagrams making it easy to understand. however, if you need a bit more information, it can be a bit basic. I'd advise getting this for getting to know the subjects, and another book with a bit more detail if you can afford it!
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
It is a good book. My biology teacher recommended the class to get it. It has good graphics and some parts of the curriculum is written in great detail.
However, it does not cover all the things I need to study e.g. all the organelles in cells. So I suggest everyone to get an average text book to cover all the stuff you need to know, and this one for further understanding.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2011
I bought this book as the AS chemistry equivalent is great. Unfortunately this biology book is not.
The book explains some relatively simple topics in an extremely confusing & bizarre way.
The book is full of both scientific & grammatical mistakes. Whoever proof read this book is a disgrace to the publishing world.
The book repeats itself. Sometimes even repeating identical paragraphs, with identical formatting on the following page! How is this necessary?
The questions on each page often ask about information not yet discussed.
There is a huge amount of information needed that is missed out or barely mentioned in this text book.
From completing the past papers online it is clear the OCR examination mark scheme disagrees with numerous statements in this text book, and would award no mark for the response written in the book! This is disgraceful considering it's a book written specifically for OCR.
The book was useful as a list of topics to cover. But this can be obtained from the OCR specification online. To achieve a good grade you will need to use other text books / sources in addition to this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
I have no idea why there are so many good reviews of this textbook. I bought this book at the request of my biology teacher (my school are now urging future classes not to buy it). I know it may seem like you *have* to buy this textbook because it is the one approved by OCR, but you really, really shouldn't. The book is littered with scientific and grammatical errors, and there is so much unnecessary content that it is hard to pick out the information relevant to the exam. There are many parts of the specification that only have a one-sentence mention in the book (such as budding in yeast cells). A lot of the points given in the textbook do not agree with the exam mark scheme. The content is also not fully explored; it is difficult to look at the topics with the alternative perspective needed in the exam. If you're aiming for a high A, the help isn't really there in this book and I would suggest cross-referencing CGP, Cambridge and past paper mark schemes. I do think the Unit 2 coverage is better than Cells, Exchange and Transport (which seems a little rushed). I only used this book for the definitions, but it made no sense to me why they were completely different based on whether you were looking them up in the main body of the book, or the glossary at the end. This being said, for a few definitions in Unit 2, the definitions in both areas of the book would typically score you 0 marks. I didn't touch this book once when revising for my biology exams in the summer. I highly recommend using the CGP Complete Guide and the Cambridge Advanced Biology 1. The Cambridge book goes off track sometimes but it a good source for the higher level material and is better at introducing topics than the Heinemann book. The CGP book is concise and full of examples but you would need to consult previous mark schemes as the points aren't elaborated that much. Also if you're thinking of buying the official revision guide please don't waste your money. That one is even worse!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)