Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
9
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2016
Daughter needed it, school recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
Whilst this book is fairly simplistic, I found it absolutely invaluable as an introduction to the Cold War. It enabled me to grasp all the key concepts which in turn enabled me to find other relevant information to further analyse the key points. Highly recommended if you've never studied the Cold War before, otherwise a more detailed book may be appropriate.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2012
For those looking to bridge the gap between some of the overly simplistic GCSE materials available and AS level study - this book fills the niche perfectly.
It is well set out, explains each topic clearly and concisely, presents the positions of each side evenly and is sufficiently well written that I found myself just sitting down and reading extra sections out of interest.
For either GCSE higher extension or as an AS overview text, I would very highly recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2009
Let me make things clear, just because you've bought this book doesn't mean that you have to limit your Cold War readings to it. I've used this despite the fact that I actually did IB History HL (A lot more difficult than what you would ever expect from A-levels) and this was one of the most helpful Cold War books i have had to read over the past two years. Also, my final mark for History HL was a 6 - just a point behind the highest possible mark which is a 7.

I must reiterate that further reading would be required after having finished this book. But that's the true beauty of it. It's so simple and so concise that when you read more complex works such as John Lewis Gaddis' 'The Cold War', you end up analysing as you read - making valuable connections between Gaddis' points and Philips' conclusions. Philips' 'The Cold War' provides its reader with the fundamental knowledge required to understand the more basic and simplistic elements of this 20th Century war.

The problem I've noticed about other reviewers is that they tend to rate this book with the assumption that this isn't meant for easy reading. Which is an absolutely wrong approach, because it is. I recommend this to anyone who's thinking of delving into Cold War studies, General History, or International Relations. But once again, let me just say that this book is best treated as a stepping stone to more complex history books rather than a main source.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2016
Great book for the Cold War. It helps with revision and I would recommend this book. I bought a used one and was not disappointed. So if your struggling with Cold War revision I would advise you purchase this book. You would need to revise the breakdown of the USSR in 1990. You would need to use other resources
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
This book is nice and concise, but for Cold War beginners, we will need to look up on the net as they explain something because it seems like we are expected to know some of them beforehand. Great book though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2004
This book is a great help to those understanding the aspects for the first time. The side headings make it easy reading. However, perhaps other books are needed if you are studying for your A-levels because there is not enough depth.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
All good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2004
This is one of a series of books that is written especially for the 'new' AS and A2 exams.
Whilst the book has its uses as a reference guide, it really does show how badly A levels have been dumb downed. Interpretations are simplistic, tables of historiography are included so that students don't even have to read other books and complex arguments are bullet pointed to such an extent that this is really just a glorified GCSE textbook.
In addition, the book is littered with inaccuracies. Please avoid.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse