Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£22.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2016
a
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
There is not enough information on the views of different philosophers in this book to get a high grade. If certain questions came up, using this book alone would not have enough content for you to write an AS level essay. It basically gives a summary about each part of the specification
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
These are both good, accessible books for this course and should provide a basic reader for all students. Whilst not cheap they do cover both sides - Ethics & Philosophy so are more cost effective for those with worries in this respect. I think, for the highest grades, you'll need to supplement these with some more academic readers or else access the Dialogue (am I allowed to mention this material)magazine as the information here is fairly standard. The tasks are very good, obviously for class work, but also to streamline private study and research. The other OCR recommended books are more detailed and are, in my opinion, probably slightly less easy to access, but are more detailed and a better resource for higher grades. They're more expensive but cover AS and A2 by subject rather than by year, so if you're planning on just doing yr 12 you may be better off buying the Ina Taylor ones, especially if money is an issue. I do teach this course and am slightly anxious about endorsing any text book - so may I just add that no single text is a substitute for hard work, reading primary sources, keeping up with the intelligent media and also supoorting your study by reading quality fiction from erm... bookshops!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Although I believe a good philosophy student should have a genuine enough interest to read literature outside of any text book designed for this course, there will be a point where the student will want clear and concise notes just to clarify their knowledge. This book was very successful when it came to cutting out all the crap and I have this book to thank for my As' in both philosophy and ethics!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
if your studying AS or similar, this is the book for you. Simple to understand and follows awarding body criteria throughout
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
This book contains everything you need to know all the content for the AS exam. The book arrived early which was fantastic! Although the book is quite costly, it is definitely worth it in the long-run. Very useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Arrived promptly and as advertised. Perfect for study revision recommended by teacher. Perfect for study revision recommended by teacher. Arrived promptly and as advertised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I highly recommend this book for anyone taking the Religious Ethics and Philosophy of religion modules of the new style OCR AS level Religious studies which is what I am taking this summer.

It covers every part of the specification you need(I suggest all students should check it out on the OCR site) and has a simple layout, links to other helpful sources and question answering help for "part A" questions especially. It is fairly comprehensive and I have checked it against the spec.

Please do not rely on this book totally and particuarly do extra research and get lesson notes for the more open "Part B" questions. This book won't get you an A grade on its own but it is a great start for getting your head round or revising the topics.

It gives help on how to achieve each assesment objective and does tell you to do research on various things. It does sometimes seem slightly "GCSE textbook" like but overall anyone who is taking this combination for AS level would be mad not to buy it!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
bought this for my daughter who is studying philosophy at a level and this is the book the school uses and she wanted her own to make notes in great buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
This is a MUST for anyone studying Philosophy and Ethics for OCR. Much more userfriendly than previous publications
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)