Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2005
As a university student faced with the compulsory 'year abroad' teaching Engish for the British Council in an Italian high school - yet not actually having any formal teaching training - I found 'Learning Teaching' to be one of the best additions to my rapidly expanding collection of teacher training books.
It is approachable enough for somebody new to the field like me, whilst still maintaining an element of depth and not just being an overly superficial text. Each area is covered thoroughly and supported with practical examples, including some good lesson plans. I would recommend this book to training, new and not so new ESL teachers.
I would also recommend Jeremy Harmer, 'The Practice of English Language Teaching' as a good compliment to Scrivener's book.
22 Comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2001
This is a book often used during training courses. It gives a really nice introduction on how to teach, although all this information then has to be implemented, which can be very difficult. I wouldn't recomend it without a TESL course because there's just so much information to take in from it, but it gives a nice introduction on how to begin teaching English as a second language. There are lots and lots of ideas here on HOW to teach.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2001
This is a really excellent book, you can work through it on your own or as part of a course but every chapter is clear and you can come back to it later to pick up an idea or more,lots of stuff in it, buy it!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2011
One of the things about TEFL courses around the world is that a lot of them are really not that good. However, one indicator that any TEFL is worth its salt, is if this is on the reading list.

Having been both a teacher and a teacher trainer, I am confident that most new teachers could pick up this book and start to plan a lesson within a couple of days.

In summary, instead of going to Thailand to do that TEFL as Dodgy Training Ltd. I recommend buying this book, trying the techniques listed, and before you know it you will have mad teaching skills.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
This book is a must for teaching. It may look a little dull, but dont let that put you off. The content is top quality and the ideas are original and flexible enough to fit into any classroom situation. No situation is left uncovered and explanations are full and easy to follow.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2016
I have been doing TEFL (Teaching English as Foreign Language) for 3 years and this book is so helpful when starting off. You just won't believe how many different ideas that are crammed into this book. It was definitely the best purchase I made for starting out as a TEFL teacher.
Truly a godsend for a new TEFL teacher. I kid you not. !!!

I really need to read it again. I'm in Mexico, limited resources. Yep, gotta read it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
It looks a bit old but it's in good conditions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2016
arrived in time. book as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
classic teaching material
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
great thanx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)