Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 3 August 2017
Our 6 year old enjoyed this as a bedtime book. It's quite old fashioned and took a while to get going (at first he said it was boring) but turned into an exciting adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
I remember reading this book as a child and loved the book, looking forward to reading it to my grandchildren.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
First read this at primary school 50+ years ago. So it was a piece of nostalgia
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2017
I reading in two days.thank's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Read this as part of my English literature GCE in the 1960s. Loved it then, love it now after all these years!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
This book is a amazing book you really feel like your in the story. My
favourite character would have to be Guston for his funny character and determination to help his friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2007
Emil Tischbein and his mother aren't exactly well off. She works as a hairdresser and saves pennies to send to her mother in Berlin. She sends Emil off to stay with his grandma in the holidays, taking the money in his inside pocket. But on the train, someone picks his pocket. Emil jumps off at the Tiergarten to follow the thief and fortunately falls in with a gang of lads who instantly decide they'll become detectives and foil the thief's dastardly plans. Now read on! It gives a detailed picture of prewar Berlin and the children are real-life kids.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
This is the film of the book for children by Erich Kastner. It is in German without subtitles. I find old black and white films interesting for the speech and mannerisms of the period and this film shows 1950s Berlin. Emil travels by train to see his grandmother and his mother pins banknotes on the reverse of his jacket collar which he is to give to his grandmother. Emil falls asleep and awakes to find the money is stolen. He follows the thief off the train and soon meets up with some boys who help him track the man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse