Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
332
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£9.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2013
The story takes us behind German lines with the terrors of trench warfare. Bravery, self sacrifice and suffering are the order of the day. Band of brothers they become too. A heart rending sensitive account of the extremes of passion and misery that accompany all theatres of the obscenity of wars. When will we learn!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
Remarkable, devastating and utterly compelling. A must read for everyone, it will change the way you view war, friendship and human nature.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Anyone debating whether or no to read this book, do it now. It is hard and had me weeping for hours at a time but it is something that everyone should read at least once in their life to truly understand what went on in those dreadful trenches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
I've been aware of this book for a very long time and unfortunately did judge the book by its cover. I expected something poetic and etheral but got nothing of the sort.

This book reveals the pure horror of trench warfare minute by bloody minute. Survival is purely through luck and experience. Some of the scenes described are horrific yet so well written that the pages simply poured through my fingers.

Life is at its most vivid in times of immense stress. The author portrays this and much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Erich Maria Remarque did a great job with his story. Being first person in view gave you the feeling that you were there. To add to this he is a very good writer.

Not being in the Great War, I can only imagine the technology of the time and trust in old war movies. In addition, this is a foreign culture in a foreign time. People there had a tendency to trust and respect their elders unquestionably.

Being of the Vietnam era, I could however relate to the parts about the different personalities and some of the war situations and attitudes. I could appreciate the river crossing at night and the defending of the deserted town. I even liked the cat that they befriended in the story. We had a dog that was named Followme, which was one of the few that did not end up in a pot. I even could feel the anxiety of not fighting and just waiting for action. The only major difference is the question of do you want the people to be behind you to push you on or cheer you on, or doing the same job with people that are indifferent or not supportive?

Anyway even with the graphic description of the actual battle is more of a description of war, not a reason to sue for peace at any cost. The story is more of a, "don't let someone pull the wool over your eyes," with the talk of the glory of war. A movie with that theme is "The Americanization of Emily" (1964)". Also, don't let Authority blindly lead you into the army with the condos as in, "Private Benjamin" (1980).

This is not the end but the key statement that pretty much sums it up, "He fell in October 1918, on a day that was so quiet and still on the whole front, that the army report confined itself to the single sentence: All quiet on the western Front."

All Quiet on the Western Front (Universal Cinema Classics)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Erich Maria Remarque did a great job with his story. Being first person in view gave you the feeling that you were there. To add to this he is a very good writer.

Not being in the Great War, I can only imagine the technology of the time and trust in old war movies. Also this is a foreign culture in a foreign time. People there had a tendency to trust and respect their elders unquestionably.

Being of the Vietnam era I could however relate to the parts about the different personalities and some of the war situations and attitudes. I could appreciate the river crossing at night and the defending of the deserted town. I even liked the cat that they befriended in the story. We had a dog that was named Followme, which was one of the few that did not end up in a pot. I even could feel the anxiety of not fighting and just waiting for action. The only major difference is the question of do you want the people to be behind you to push you on or cheer you on, or doing the same job with people that are indifferent or not supportive?

Anyway even with the graphic description of the actual battle is more of a description of war, not a reason to sue for peace at any cost. The story is more of a, "don't let someone pull the wool over your eyes," with the talk of the glory of war. A movie with that theme is "The Americanization of Emily" (1964)". Also don't let Authority blindly lead you into the army with the condos as in, "Private Benjamin" (1980).

This is not the end but the key statement that pretty much sums it up, "He fell in October 1918, on a day that was so quiet and still on the whole front, that the army report confined itself to the single sentence: All quiet on the western Front."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
I should of read this year's ago it's a true master piece. It tells of the cruelty of mankind and the unbelievable sacrifice these young men gave. But it also shows the strength to endure the impossible and how the bonds of friendship kept these young men alive one book you must read before you die
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
This book should be a must read in all schools - There is no glory in war, in death, destruction - hatred - forcing people to the edge of inhumanity - this book is so powerful, so shocking, so sad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2009
I have been looking for a copy of this book for quite sometime and was so elated to finally own it that i started reading it as soon as i recieved it.
The story is a first person style description of a young man's experiance of WW1 from the German point of view, although with the visciousness of trench warfare and the similiarities of shared experiance it could have been written for any of the Allied or central Powers soldiers.
Baumer and his class enlist in 1914 as bright faced youths under pressure from their school master and patriotic society and recounts how the war changes them as human beings and how the shared experiances forms bonds of comradeship with other soldiers from across the different social strata as well as geographical plains.
Its descriptive nature and writing style makes you feel as if you are sat next to Baumer in the concrete bunker under a British barrage or crawling through no-man's land looking for signs of an enemy attack, i was totally sucked into the narrative.
It reads alot like the Forgotten soldier mixed with Sven hassle, it really shows the grim reality of the war and its affects on the virgin mind of a youth.
A must read for anyone interested in war, many books glorify fighting and heroics but this really shows the affect on the common man and his hellish experiance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
This book is very grafic and moving but reveals a great deal of insight into the first world war. I'd highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in war, history or enjoys a fascinating read. This book is written from the German perspective and so offers a much more broader image of the war than that of which the English school system provides, so definitely a highly recommended read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.