Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
37
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£17.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2016
Good but too short. not enough example questions. Use with other books/past papers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
In contrast to the other reviewers on this site, I believe that this book is an excellent preparation for the BMAT exam. True, it doesn't explain everything that could be asked, or tell you how to pass, but what is does do is give you a good overview of the exam, and practise questions for it.

If you are looking for a book to teach you everything you need to know, you are in the wrong place, you should be looking for GCSE biology, chemistry, physics books. The essay of the BMAT I would say is hard to revise for, you simply need to discuss what is being said. Further, Universities weight it far less than the other sections. So there is less point trying to find a book telling you how to write an essay.

Perhaps i'm the exception to the rule, but I found this book to be more helpful than the other 2 (3rd party) books that I bought on the matter. I strongly believe that the best revision is not to look for a "magic book" but simply to learn the GCSE science syllabus well, and use practise questions from this book and from past papers off the BMAT website to help you understand what things come up (mechanics is quite frequent If I recall). Once I was in the BMAT exam, I couldn't remember anything that the "Pass the BMAT" books said, but the overall knowledge of the exam, revision of GCSE science, and this books and on lines past questions enabled me to do well
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
I am not applying this year, and so I lent it to a friend - who constantly praises this book for having 'everything in!'
It is not a thick book at all, but has proven useful so far.
A must get.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
Just get the same book from your local library (mine had it in stock to lend). Definitely not worth the money spent on it. But would be useful to have a quick flick through to get teh examiner's comments and insights into the section 3 essays though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
This book is too old and has very few practice questions in it so it's only of limited value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2011
I think many of these reviews really underrate this book. Yes it doesn't have the most questions in it, but that's why the past papers are available on the bmat website. It has clear and concise explanations of what all the sections are about, how to answer each style of question, and most invaluably, examples of section 3 answers on all grade boundaries so you can really see what the markers are looking for. I think if you're doing the BMAT, it's a good idea to get this book, to highlight and make notes in of key useful points. If nothing else, it has a great wealth of information in a small package that is much easier to carry around that tones of past papers
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
OK well the book is not so fair price wise (it's worth 5 quids really) however I would still commend to buy it.
Why? Well I sat the BMAT last year and revised for only about 1 week as I did not know how the medical application worked. I managed to score just above Imperial cut off (4.2/3 I think) in both sections and failed the essay.
The book does actually have some good questions for section 1, however because of their small number it tends to be useless a part from building a strong base for the exam. The questions are in fact very realistic.
Section 2 I found very flimsy, it was not covered very well and the syllabus for the required scientific knowledge was not given.All in all the book was quite useless here.
Section 3 was covered very quickly and seemed more like a review. It does give you an exoskeleton for your essay as well as some examples which were quite good. However again like in Section 1 there are not enough examples for you to draw a clear picture on how to write a good essay. I would say that the book gives the minimum required knowledge here.
All in all I would score the book 2.5 not 2 stars but that's not available unfortunately. I will soon receive the Kaplan book (the one that goes on the net for over 100 quids) as well as the BMAT 400Q so that I will be able to say if there's any need to buy this book if you have any of these (which currently are regarded as the best two).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2010
the book is very thin and contains only a limited set of questions and answers and some sample of essay. I hoped that, as the books preparing for the SATs, there was also some theoretical part.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Contains useful tips and tricks but does little more than that.

Good for getting the basic idea into you're head but you will definitely need to pick up other resources to help you study.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
Absolutely terrible. Book is very small. Far, far easier than the actual exam. This book will probably give you a false sense of security.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)